Portuguese Pork with Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I didn't have anything but red wine and used it instead and the dish was INCREDIBLE! The pepper is very spicy so the next time I will not only use the right kind of wine for the proper taste, but, I will cut back on the black pepper for the 4 little eatters at my table......moist...very, very, moist! A real meat stretcher dish too with leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I like this recipe a lot. Although I substituted water for the wine, I still found the sauteed red pepper sauce quite flavorful. Next time I will double the red pepper sauce part as it was so tasty I couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This dish was terrific, particularly if you like pepper. After removing the pork from the pan, I added a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce just a touch. Also used a red, an orange and a yellow pepper for splendid colour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I liked this recipe alot. I prepared it a bit differently tho, slicing the pork into 1 inch cubes and pounding it out. I let it marinade over night, and added more pepper at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn La

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Quick - easy and I loved using my mortar and pestle - I always feel like the mad scientist and anyone around are really impressed!!! Followed recipe exactly and it was perfect. I was going to add more garlic but didn't and was glad I followed the recipe. Thanks submitter. As an after thought, adding bite size chunks of onions may be something I might try the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was an excellent recipe! My family loved it. I didn't get to marinate but about 20 minutes & it was still fantastic. I also did not make a paste, but used crushed garlic out of a jar (don't have a mortar & pestle), & actually, with that much meat I think it worked better as a marinade. I used my favorite white wine and followed another Reviewer's suggestion to add cornstarch to the leftover sauce, which turned out to be a good idea. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was just delicious! It was so easy to make, and just melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
It was delicious. I recommend using a little less salt but it tasted wonderful. The lemons really topped it off and I only marinated for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Wonderful! I used a combination of red, yellow, and orange bell peppers. Skipped the lemon slices, but the lemon juice is a must. We had this with plain couscous and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States