Portuguese Pork with Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by k2 kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I was slightly underwhelmed by this dish but when I read the description, it is exactly as described. It seemed to be missing something but I really don't know what I would do differently. There was a definite heat to the meat with the pepper/garlic flavors coming through and the sweetness of the peppers did cut it nicely. I did follow the changes mentioned by the author's additional post and also mixed a bit of cornstarch to some chicken broth to thicken the sauce. The meat was incredibly tender and I served this dish with roasted asparagus and buttered parsley red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k2 kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
pros....very easy. cons....very average. i made this for company one night becasue of good reviews. YIKES...I'm not sure I'll make that mistake again. It was pretty average to VERY average. Just peppery lemon chicken. The next night I took the leftovers and added, some capers, a lot of roasted peppers, garlic, and vermouth...with a little more white wine and corn starch to thicken and it was actually good. But it took a combination of flavors to make this tasty. nice and easy...but to be honest, a disappointment for a good cut of pork. With the changes...it will like it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is SOOOO Good! I doubled the garlic and only had time to let it marinate for 1 1/2 hours, but other than that followed the recipe to a tee. My husband loved it as did I. Served it over buttered noodles with a simple tossed salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was quite a challenge without a mortar and pestle but with patience, perseverance and the flat side of a chef's knife I got the job done. This was just delicious. The contrast of the bite of the peppercorns with the sweetness of the red pepper was interesting, piquant and delicious. This "paste" permeates the meat and flavors it beautifully and that, coupled with the wine and chicken broth the submitter advised to add in a separate review, made for a wonderful sauce. I left the lemon off mine, hubs included it in his - -we were both pleased as pie! I served this with rice pilaf (parsley buttered potatoes would have been good too) and fresh asparagus. Great dish with a lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is MONEY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
We loved this pork! Like others, I couldn't get over how tender it came out. I served it with pine nut couscous and it was an excellent and healthy meal. So simple, yet so delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This dish really surprised me. I didn't think something so simple could be so good! My husband usually does not like pork, but he loved this! He said it tasted like steak. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
very good...in my personal cook book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was wonderful. Next time, I will just sprinkle it with freshly ground pepper & mince the garlic. Also, I just sliced the tenderloin thinly instead of pounding it. I'm all about quick & easy, and I think it would be just as good. Also, I'll cut down a little on the pepper next time so my kids will like it more. Fabulous flavor combination & a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I've made this several tiimes and it has become a family favorite. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States