Portuguese Pork Alentejana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. My family is Portuguese and everyone loved eating this last night. I did chop up some potatoes, seasoned it a little, and roasted it. After the potatoes were roasted I mixed it in with the pork and clams. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Very nice and very much like I was taught by my vavo. The only difference was the addition of the tomatoes. We don't add them to thyis dish. Even without them very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookstorelax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
very tasty but definately didnt need all of that salt. i added some chopped up tomatoes and onions to the marinade that was being reduced as well as a few tablespoons of milk to make it a little creamier it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bdongu22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was FABULOUS! I either put a little extra salt, or maybe it was because I used white cooking wine and that may contain salt...I made roasted potatoes and mixed those in at the end so the potatoes countered the salt....but other than that it was DELICIOUS! I marinaded for 2 days straight the pork was TENDER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I have made this twice now and I loved it both times. Excellent delicate flavor and the pork was melt in your mouth tender. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was a nice change of pace from making my usual pork roast. I didn't used fresh tomatoes, just one can of diced. I used frozen clam meat and a small amount of clam juice. That worked out just fine. The pork was very moist and tender from the marinade. I will make this again. Thanks for the post John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This was a hit at my wine and cheese party. We had 2 portugese people attending and they said it was the best. Angela - Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I had this fantastic dish at a local Portuguese restaurant then set out on a search to find something close. This recipe comes quite close and was a big hit the three times I served it. I used Vinho Verde for the wine to stay authentic, used 2 teaspoon paprika instead of 1, added a ΒΌ teaspoon coriander to the marinade to give it a little more depth, and cut the salt back to 2 teaspoons. Clams (littlenecks) will tend to open at different times so remove them from the pan as they open to assure they stay tender. Add them back to the pan for the last minute after adding back the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
I loved this recipe! (My husband was also a big fan.) I used boneless pork chops instead of the pork loin, and served the whole meal over roasted potatoes...which is how we get it at a local restaurant. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States