Portuguese Muffins - Bolo Levedo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Not only was this recipe fairly easy (at least with a kitchen aid doing the work), but the bolo's came out perfectly. These were a favourite treat growing up when my mother brought them home from the shop and now they are going to be a favourite of my daughters (and husband) when I make them at home. I read through the reviews and my experience was so different from many of the others. Although we all seemed to love the results, it seems that some put way more effort in than I did. I placed all the ingredients at once into my Kitchen aid and let it go for about ten minutes. Then I let it rise in my oven with the oven light on for an hour or two. This resulted in a nice, elastic dough that I kneaded lightly and cut in to 16 parts. With a rolling pin I rolled (only three rolls in total) the dough balls into flat circles. I let them rise again on a well oiled parchment paper and gave them an extra coating on top to make sure they didn't stick. When they were ready to cook, I heated a cast iron griddle on med-low heat and gently placed each patty on to the pan and cooked for 2 minutes a side. They were perfect. Honestly, if I spent more than hour of actual labour on these I would be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
UNBELIEVABLE!! My first time making bolos levedos and a total hit with everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMENINA123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Thanks so much for this recipe. I live in CO but miss the Bolo's from the Portuguese bakeries in the NE. I used 1 T. of yeast and made sure it was fermenting well. I also added 1 c. raisins and zest from one lemon to match the flavor from my fav. bakery. I baked them in the oven (325 10-15 min) because I didn't have time for the skillet. If I had cooked them in the skillet I think they would have been perfect, as it was, they were still some darn fine Bolo Levedos! Yay! I proofed in the oven and used bread flour and they came out light and the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKALA79
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I used to get these years ago at a little cafe in Burlington, Ontario, where I'm from. I am so glad I found this recipe because now I can have them any time I want. I kneaded the dough in my stand mixer for 10 minutes, then let it rise in a warm oven. I did first pan fry them in butter to get that dark golden brown crust, then I baked them in the oven for 10 minutes just to make sure the center was baked through. omg, beyond delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Like some of the reviewers, the dough took a long time to rise, so I now use 1 Tbs plus 1/2 tsp of yeast, about one and a half packages of dry yeast. This seems to work fine for me and, no, it is not too much yeast, nor does the dough smell yeasty. I also used 1 tsp of salt instead of 1/2 tsp called for in the recipe. I found that it accentuated the sweetness, without the calories. This is truly the best recipe ever for bolos lêvedos. If you use a kneading machine, 10 minutes is enough. Make sure you save about 1/2 cup of flour from recipe to add in the end so that the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl. It makes it easier on the machine. I used King Arthur's flour for bread making, and it works. There is no comparison between these bolos lêvedos and the store-bought ones. I have been making this recipe every week. I freeze the bolos in zipperlock bags and thaw one at a time. Thanks Titia Deolinda! P.S. if you are watching what you eat, and if you make 16 bolos (not hard at all) out of this recipe, each bolo is 5 Weight Watchers points. Good size bolo too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Yummy…My kids love these! The taste was right on, but I did find that they were a bit heavy compared to the ones made in Sao Miguel. (Although, this could have been because the dough didn’t rise enough after kneading, I should have gave them more time to proof). I do recommend cooking them in a heavy pan until golden and then finishing them off in the oven to ensure the sides and center are cooked through. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I absoluely love portuguese muffins. The problem is that I live in Virginia, and I am unable to find them anywhere in my area. I was so excited to find this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except that I baked the muffins versus frying them in a 350 degree oven for about 10-12 minutes or until done. Although they don't come out golden brown as the picture above shows, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vagriffs5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
The first couple of tries didn't work for me, but I think it's because the yeast didn't ferment. The third try was the charm. I added some flour and sugar to the yeast and let it ferment for an hour. The trick seems to be in the yeast, so make sure you get that part perfect! The more it rises the more delicious it will turn out. This recipe is time consuming, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jellybean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
i have no words for how good these are! okay, well...maybe i have a few. ;) my mom's fam is from massachusetts and throughout the years i've always looked forward to being able to eat my portuguese muffins whenever we visit--but these truly surpass anything i've bought in new england. only things i changed: i used a packet of instant yeast instead--it was all i had--and just added it to the flour and sugar before mixing in the wet ingredients. i also added about a tabls. of vanilla extract and 1-2 teaspoons pure lemon extract to make them taste more like the bakery ones. only problem i've experienced is my yeast taking forever to rise--quite ironic since it's quick rise. so i asked a good baker and she said to microwave the dough in a bowl with plastic wrap covering it for 30 seconds on 4 power, and repeat 15 minutes later, and that totally did the trick! anyway, these are awesome, and yummy, and freeze and defrost well too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I found these extremely time consuming. They turned out just okay and my dad found them quite heavy compared to the ones he had growing up. I'll try altering the recipe to see if I can make them slightly lighter. The taste was fine, but I could only eat one or two before I was STUFFED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States