Portuguese Muffins - Bolo Levedo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
I made it with my nieces, they love it... The Muffins taste just like my grandmother's. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I've had store-bought Portuguese muffins from a nearby natural foods chain many times in the past, and they don't compare at all to this recipe! It took quite a long time to cook the muffins on low heat, but it could have been that my apartment was on the humid side, as the dough also took almost a cup more flour than the recipe called for. Despite how time-consuming these muffins were, I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Great food. Goes well with any well made dinner. A taste of the Azores right at your fingertips. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I made this last year and there isn't anything better than a fresh bolo for breakfast and this truely is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe is fantastic.I did add about 1/2 Cup flour more for it was too sticky.I also used my mixer to knead the dough for about 10 minutes and it came out perfect.When they were ready to cook i used my large electric griddle and was able to cook 6 at a time.I used low heat at about 250 to 300 degrees.My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were really good - I cooked some in my cast iron skillet, and some in the oven at 325. The oven ones came out better - the ones in the skillet ended up with gummy sides. Maybe if they had been thinner, that wouldn't have happened. These are great for sandwiches, butter & jam, anything. I could even see them being hamburger buns if you cut down on the sugar and increased the salt by about 1/4 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My family loves bolos and they can be quite expensive. I made 16 from this recipe. I heated my cast iron skillet on low for about ten minutes. I cook 4 at a time and I make sure they touch the side of the pan, and then I twist them every few minutes to cook the sides. They do take a while to cook but worth it. I also had to add more flour. I also sometimes add lemon zest or cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
so yummy........my kids really enjoyed too...and they are usually really picky. i used to buy them from the bakery, but no more.........these taste even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I found these extremely time consuming. They turned out just okay and my dad found them quite heavy compared to the ones he had growing up. I'll try altering the recipe to see if I can make them slightly lighter. The taste was fine, but I could only eat one or two before I was STUFFED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
i have no words for how good these are! okay, well...maybe i have a few. ;) my mom's fam is from massachusetts and throughout the years i've always looked forward to being able to eat my portuguese muffins whenever we visit--but these truly surpass anything i've bought in new england. only things i changed: i used a packet of instant yeast instead--it was all i had--and just added it to the flour and sugar before mixing in the wet ingredients. i also added about a tabls. of vanilla extract and 1-2 teaspoons pure lemon extract to make them taste more like the bakery ones. only problem i've experienced is my yeast taking forever to rise--quite ironic since it's quick rise. so i asked a good baker and she said to microwave the dough in a bowl with plastic wrap covering it for 30 seconds on 4 power, and repeat 15 minutes later, and that totally did the trick! anyway, these are awesome, and yummy, and freeze and defrost well too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States