Portuguese Muffins - Bolo Levedo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
so yummy........my kids really enjoyed too...and they are usually really picky. i used to buy them from the bakery, but no more.........these taste even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My family loves bolos and they can be quite expensive. I made 16 from this recipe. I heated my cast iron skillet on low for about ten minutes. I cook 4 at a time and I make sure they touch the side of the pan, and then I twist them every few minutes to cook the sides. They do take a while to cook but worth it. I also had to add more flour. I also sometimes add lemon zest or cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were really good - I cooked some in my cast iron skillet, and some in the oven at 325. The oven ones came out better - the ones in the skillet ended up with gummy sides. Maybe if they had been thinner, that wouldn't have happened. These are great for sandwiches, butter & jam, anything. I could even see them being hamburger buns if you cut down on the sugar and increased the salt by about 1/4 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe is fantastic.I did add about 1/2 Cup flour more for it was too sticky.I also used my mixer to knead the dough for about 10 minutes and it came out perfect.When they were ready to cook i used my large electric griddle and was able to cook 6 at a time.I used low heat at about 250 to 300 degrees.My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I made this last year and there isn't anything better than a fresh bolo for breakfast and this truely is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Great food. Goes well with any well made dinner. A taste of the Azores right at your fingertips. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I've had store-bought Portuguese muffins from a nearby natural foods chain many times in the past, and they don't compare at all to this recipe! It took quite a long time to cook the muffins on low heat, but it could have been that my apartment was on the humid side, as the dough also took almost a cup more flour than the recipe called for. Despite how time-consuming these muffins were, I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
I made it with my nieces, they love it... The Muffins taste just like my grandmother's. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States