Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Tried this recipe and read reviews first. Anabela's changes--Yikes waaaaay tooo much salt (8 bullion cubes!). I found home made (no salt added) chicken broth added plenty of flavor. Letting it soak with the linguica made a difference as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
My grocer had awful linguica (spell?) but this recipe was a great start. The next time I used a nice smokey kielbasa and the soup was much nicer. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This has become the favourite soup in our home. My Husband and Son told me of all the homemade soups I make; this is by far the best. There is so much flavour from so little ingredients...so quick to put together. I just use beef stock instead of water and it's still as good, I don't go to the trouble of use the bones to make my stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
My husband loved it, even though I substituted beef broth and used turkey kielbasa. I did add some garlic and bay leaf. He wants the recipe so he can make it himself. Hmmm...okay, so 5 stars from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is a good, easy, healthy soup and a perfect way to introduce children to important green veggies! I did not have beef soup bones so I used a combination of low sodium canned beef broth, low sodium canned chicken broth, and beef consommé. Because I love the buttery sweetness of cabbage after a long simmer I added the cabbage midway through the cooking of the beans. Don’t let not planning ahead send you scampering for a can of beans for this recipe. Dried beans are healthier, tastier, and have a better texture than canned. If you can’t soak the beans overnight just bring them to a boil for two minutes and then let them soak for one hour before draining, rinsing, and proceeding with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Does not disappoint! Have made it as is, and then with chicken sausage & chicken broth, both times were delicious and hearty. Will certainly pull this one out over the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This recipe was spot on.the person who made this has a Portuguese name so I assume they are.it is made with no canned items or bullion which I think changes the recipe from being authentic.excellent!I am Portuguese and originally come from RI.This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very good. The second day is even better and I added cream to it the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I used beef and chicken base instead of beef soup bones to make this recipe easier. Instead of white pea beans (small navy beans) I used red kidney beans. I also used portuguese sausage (linguica) instead of chorizo (personal preference) that I pan seared before adding to the soup base, in the sausage fat I added some onions and garlic, then reduced with red wine. Other that that recipe was as directed. This was really hardy soup that went well with day old french bread. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States