Portuguese Fried Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I'll make this again! This has a good taste and fine texture. It's good with butter and honey. Next time I might cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
I was really impressed with this bread. I made the dough balls small, just bigger than a golf ball. Next time, I'll try them bigger. They had a nice flavor, good texture. They were just as wonderful when they were cold, tasted even sweeter! I wasn't in the kitchen very long, I like that! Thank you for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
This is a very good recipe. I made it for a potluck a couple of weeks ago and it went over great. I made a double recipe and there was none left. I was making it when my daughter got home from school, I had her try a piece and then had to keep her out of it. I had to promise to make it again for us. I made the mistake of rolling out the dough, it makes them kind of hard and chewwy. We liked ours best when it was soft and chew. Good recipe, you should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Like fry bread, only just a tad sweeter. I fried them in hot grease and rolled in cinnamon-sugar and we ate them like donuts. Oh, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
What a wonderful recipe! We've made these as is and with several variations - add a handful of chopped fresh basil or some parmesan cheese, garlic powder/salt, chopped onion etc. Possibilities are endless and they are super fast and easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This bread is WONDERFUL! My husband asks me to make it every time he makes his spicy chili! Would of given it more than 5 stars because it is sooo EASY and YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This bread is all about texture and what you can do with it. Eat it with jelly, or add ingredients to it like green onions and cheese, or eat it with gravy! I could go on because the possibilities are endless!!! Crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside! Oh so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wytheville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I made this last night and it was a huge hit! Very easy to make and very tasty! I wasn't sure how large the breads were supposed to end up, but I wound up with little inch-wide balls. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My 3 year old and I made these tonight. She had hers rolled in powdered sugar and I had mine with butter. These are soooo good. When I was shaping them to fry, she said they looked like pillows. And we giggled about the dough being sticky like boogers, so now we are calling them Booger Pillows. :}} This recipe is very versatile. Its kind of like a fritter, kind of like fried dough, and kind of like heavy chewy bread. I think I will be making these ALOT more with different additions (like garlic and cheese or cinnamon and apples). Theyre so good we have just one left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasika Dokki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I used brown sugar, and a little bit more than called for by the recipe. The result was a breakfasty bread with a hearty taste and texture reminescent of oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arianna Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States