Portuguese Fried Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have made this many times since I have found this recipe and my family just loves it. Easy to make taste good and goes with so many different dishes. I am making it tonight to go with roast and potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenwitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Trinity, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
"Mom, can we make a special breakfast?" But, no eggs. So, this is what we tried, and it was perfect. The Boy likes them with cinnamon sugar, while Hubby and I appreciate the doughy sweetness plain. I used the recipe as written to make 8 biscuit-size fritters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Great recipe. Mine came out lumpier than the ones pictured. I tried plain vegetable oil and also garlic flavored olive oil. The garlic gave it just a little more flavor which was good. Also I tried the plain kind with honey and it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This recipe was the best I found so far to serve my memory of an outstanding New Zealand fried bread I've eaten years back. Our family really enjoyed it but we used about a half cup more of flour so it wouldn't be so sticky. I've made this a handful of times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
just love this recipes there are so many different ways to make these and use them i added a little more sugar and some cinnamon and served them to the grandkids with pancake syrup and a little powdered sugar it was a HUGE hit I have to keep making them so many different variations try them as herber add a little thyme and rosemary...wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
wonderful i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChrysintheKitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Pretty good, have made it twice now. Although I tried using them instead of dinner rolls when serving meatloaf, but my partner said that he found it didn't go so well. The first time we served it however was with soup and it was fantastic to dunk with. I have frozen some that we had extra and am going to attempt using it as part of a dessert which I have done with another fry bread recipe, serving it with fruit and cream. I suspect it should taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly. Unfortunately, I don't have much frying experience so my bread came out uncooked in the center. I think I had the oil too hot. However, those that were done all the way were wonderful and will become a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made it and thought it was really good but, next time I make it i think i will add a little more sugar and make my dough more flat. It is really good with strawberries on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
of course I find anything fried yummy, and this was great too. I mixed with my bread hook, and used whole wheat flour. I hand-flattened my first three too thick (I drop them in three at a time to keep the oil from cooling down too much), so I rolled them thinner and they ended up puffing up! I filled a few of them with cream cheese, which made them pastry-like. A few others I filled with cheddar cheese. I made them to go with chili, but they were great just to nibble on dipped in dijonaise mustard. A keeper, and so quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States