Portuguese Fried Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
mine taste like soft pretzels.. still good but does anyone else's taste like this? haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
when I was a young girl, my sister married a full-blooded Seneca Indian. She used to make what we knew as Ghost Bread. I could not find this recipe here so I searched Fried Bread. This is the ghost bread recipe minus the sugar!!! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sukeyblueskin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was so good! I don't have a oven so this is definitely that craving-for-cake fix me up that worked wonders. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and used only 2/3 of the sugar used in the recipe. I used a couple of tablespoons of honey too and it was divine. If you want something savory, I mixed this up and used cheese a couple of times. My boyfriend loves them! Thank you for this wonderful fry bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiaSantiago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I am panamenian and this tasted like panamenian hojaldres! LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Soooo delicious!!! I just made these for dinner and I'm having a hard time saving them till then after sampling the first one! Didn't change the recipe a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These are good and very easy to make, but are truly nothing more than fried dough. I'm unlikely to make them again. I do recommend you pat them pretty flat before frying. They puff a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I just made these for my sisters baby shower today, and I found that I had to add a little bit of water because the dough wasn't mixing together well, this is why I am only giving this recipe 4 stars, however once I did this I made them bite sized so they would go further and then dipped some in cinnamon and sugar like someone else suggested and I left the other plain, planning on serving those with honey. I liked them and my daughter (who's almost 3) loved them and kept asking for more, now to see how the other guests at the baby shower like them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Tried this bread last night, was a little skeptical! Added some cayenne pepper to the batter for flavor! Wow was it easy and so good. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VScott
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My 3 year old and I made these tonight. She had hers rolled in powdered sugar and I had mine with butter. These are soooo good. When I was shaping them to fry, she said they looked like pillows. And we giggled about the dough being sticky like boogers, so now we are calling them Booger Pillows. :}} This recipe is very versatile. Its kind of like a fritter, kind of like fried dough, and kind of like heavy chewy bread. I think I will be making these ALOT more with different additions (like garlic and cheese or cinnamon and apples). Theyre so good we have just one left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasika Dokki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I like how this recipe is very simple and doesn't require eggs or butter because they definitely taste like they do. I like how they're fluffy. The taste a lot like biscuits if you cook them when they are brown but if they are a golden brown theytaste like unpowdered sugar beignets. I pair them with homemade chili. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States