Portuguese Fried Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
mine taste like soft pretzels.. still good but does anyone else's taste like this? haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
when I was a young girl, my sister married a full-blooded Seneca Indian. She used to make what we knew as Ghost Bread. I could not find this recipe here so I searched Fried Bread. This is the ghost bread recipe minus the sugar!!! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sukeyblueskin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was so good! I don't have a oven so this is definitely that craving-for-cake fix me up that worked wonders. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and used only 2/3 of the sugar used in the recipe. I used a couple of tablespoons of honey too and it was divine. If you want something savory, I mixed this up and used cheese a couple of times. My boyfriend loves them! Thank you for this wonderful fry bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiaSantiago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I am panamenian and this tasted like panamenian hojaldres! LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Soooo delicious!!! I just made these for dinner and I'm having a hard time saving them till then after sampling the first one! Didn't change the recipe a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These are good and very easy to make, but are truly nothing more than fried dough. I'm unlikely to make them again. I do recommend you pat them pretty flat before frying. They puff a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I just made these for my sisters baby shower today, and I found that I had to add a little bit of water because the dough wasn't mixing together well, this is why I am only giving this recipe 4 stars, however once I did this I made them bite sized so they would go further and then dipped some in cinnamon and sugar like someone else suggested and I left the other plain, planning on serving those with honey. I liked them and my daughter (who's almost 3) loved them and kept asking for more, now to see how the other guests at the baby shower like them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Tried this bread last night, was a little skeptical! Added some cayenne pepper to the batter for flavor! Wow was it easy and so good. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VScott
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My 3 year old and I made these tonight. She had hers rolled in powdered sugar and I had mine with butter. These are soooo good. When I was shaping them to fry, she said they looked like pillows. And we giggled about the dough being sticky like boogers, so now we are calling them Booger Pillows. :}} This recipe is very versatile. Its kind of like a fritter, kind of like fried dough, and kind of like heavy chewy bread. I think I will be making these ALOT more with different additions (like garlic and cheese or cinnamon and apples). Theyre so good we have just one left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasika Dokki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I like how this recipe is very simple and doesn't require eggs or butter because they definitely taste like they do. I like how they're fluffy. The taste a lot like biscuits if you cook them when they are brown but if they are a golden brown theytaste like unpowdered sugar beignets. I pair them with homemade chili. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States