Portuguese Fresh Tuna (Sauce and Marinade) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
great childhood memory I add green onion fresh thinly sliced garlic and no ketchup and yes it must be served with boiled potatoe this is also a great sauce for porkchops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is wonderfulllllllllllll!!! I had no idea what the "pimenta moida" pepper stuff was but I used red pepper flakes and a dash of chilli powder and called it good. I made potatoes and rice and found it to be perfect with both. I was slo in a hurry and didn't let the fish sit in the mixture for very long but made the sauce and it added just enough kick!! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchter_Face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Blech. Not sure what I did wrong, if it was me. Flavors not good, a lot of work goes into prepping. Sadface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEHOWIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We've been ordering the pan fried tuna in several local (SE MA) Portuguese restaurants lately. My wife loves it and even though I'm not a fish fan, I like it too. This one comes close to what we've been getting. p.s. Best if the tuna is NOT over cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was so amazing. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe!! I didn't do the marinade, I actually just made the sauce and poured it on top of my fish just before serving it. It was a big hit... even with my portuguese mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was really good! We will make this again once fresh tuna comes our way. My husband even asked without knowing the name of the recipes-"what makes this taste Portuguese?" Of course the pimenta moida is what I replied. I made one change, I used white wine instead of the vinegar. We served with steamed potatos tossed with garlic, butter and fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
If I closed my eyes, I thought I was back home in South Eastern Massachusetts....in my VoVo's kitchen! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Loved it... Am a fellow Portagee and greatly appreciated this recipe. The sauce is very spicy/tasty and can be used with other meats as well. I actually used it with steak and eggs(another Portuguese favorite) and it came out fantastic. One thing, I thought that marinating the tuna was excessive since the sauce was already so strong. And for those of you that don't know what 'pimenta moida' is, it's wet, hot, crushed red pepper that comes in a jar... It's critical to the recipe. A possible substitution could be hot crushed cherry peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States