Portuguese Favas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Easy to make and DH enjoyed it. Didn't change anything - We like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
just like the favas at the fall river feasts..I like mine with hard boiled eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Reminds me of the favas served at the Portuguese feasts in Rhode Island. Bless you for bringing a little bit of home to my neck of the woods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe was great! I made it yesterday knoing I would eat it tonight to let the flavors meld overnight. Yum! I love spicy food, but the amount of hot red pepper seemed like way too much to me (I think 2 TBS may be a mistake!), so I cut down quite a bit on it. I used 2 cans of butter beans in this in tead of favas and it was yummy. I served it over polenta sliced and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I make this often, served with Portuguese Broa (cornmeal bread)and it's a real family favorite. 2 T. of pepper flakes would blow the tops of my kids' heads off so I just add to taste. I use a bit more tomato sauce. I come from an Italian family and we make a similar dish that includes pancetta bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this last night for the family and it was a big hit! I agree, it does taste just like the ones you get at the feast! I love spicy food and this hit my taste bud's real good! Looove it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I've been looking for this recipe forever!! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deliciosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is one great tasting recipe. I had to cut back on the red pepper flakes and I cracked 4 eggs and dropped them in the sauce as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rwhitetail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Excellent! Just like my Portuguese mother-in-law makes! I used just 1 tsp of red pepper flakes and I think next time I'll use just a tad less than that. ETA: My IL's thought that it wasn't spicy enough! They said that in Portugal, you eat favas while drinking wine and it is supposed to be spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe brings me back to Terceira and the festas. Thank you for some great recipes, John. I did add malageita to the recipe and it brought it all together for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADIGOLFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States