Portuguese Favas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
As a Portuguese who now lives in Portugal, I recomend adding in some bacon cubes along with Portuguese chouriço sliced but not to thin, let it stew with the fava beans, when all cooked try using fresh chopped ciliantro sprinkled over top, its absolutly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These are great but to make them even better I add chourico. That's how my mom used to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Reminds me of the favas served at the Portuguese feasts in Rhode Island. Bless you for bringing a little bit of home to my neck of the woods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I grew up on portuguese food and must admit that this was very good. a little too spicy, so next time, i will cut back on the red pepper flakes. juicy, flavorful, colorful... great over rice! even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Could not find favas anywhere in my city, so instead I used lima beans. The sauce to me seemed mild and somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe was great! I made it yesterday knoing I would eat it tonight to let the flavors meld overnight. Yum! I love spicy food, but the amount of hot red pepper seemed like way too much to me (I think 2 TBS may be a mistake!), so I cut down quite a bit on it. I used 2 cans of butter beans in this in tead of favas and it was yummy. I served it over polenta sliced and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
just like the favas at the fall river feasts..I like mine with hard boiled eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe and just like the portuguese feasts. Might be a little spicy for some ,but you can always adjust the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I've been looking for this recipe forever!! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deliciosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I make this often, served with Portuguese Broa (cornmeal bread)and it's a real family favorite. 2 T. of pepper flakes would blow the tops of my kids' heads off so I just add to taste. I use a bit more tomato sauce. I come from an Italian family and we make a similar dish that includes pancetta bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States