Portuguese Favas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
just like the favas at the fall river feasts..I like mine with hard boiled eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Reminds me of the favas served at the Portuguese feasts in Rhode Island. Bless you for bringing a little bit of home to my neck of the woods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe was great! I made it yesterday knoing I would eat it tonight to let the flavors meld overnight. Yum! I love spicy food, but the amount of hot red pepper seemed like way too much to me (I think 2 TBS may be a mistake!), so I cut down quite a bit on it. I used 2 cans of butter beans in this in tead of favas and it was yummy. I served it over polenta sliced and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I make this often, served with Portuguese Broa (cornmeal bread)and it's a real family favorite. 2 T. of pepper flakes would blow the tops of my kids' heads off so I just add to taste. I use a bit more tomato sauce. I come from an Italian family and we make a similar dish that includes pancetta bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I liked it, but think that 2 Tbsp pepper flakes would be too much. I added one.. and it was almost too much. I also couldn't find Fava beans, so added some "Fava chick peas" or something, and then a can of soy beans. Would probably taste good over quinoa. I really want to find real fava beans to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this last night for the family and it was a big hit! I agree, it does taste just like the ones you get at the feast! I love spicy food and this hit my taste bud's real good! Looove it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These are great but to make them even better I add chourico. That's how my mom used to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I've been looking for this recipe forever!! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deliciosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I grew up on portuguese food and must admit that this was very good. a little too spicy, so next time, i will cut back on the red pepper flakes. juicy, flavorful, colorful... great over rice! even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is one great tasting recipe. I had to cut back on the red pepper flakes and I cracked 4 eggs and dropped them in the sauce as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rwhitetail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States