Portuguese Favas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Easy to make and DH enjoyed it. Didn't change anything - We like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe brings me back to Terceira and the festas. Thank you for some great recipes, John. I did add malageita to the recipe and it brought it all together for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADIGOLFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I love beans, but I just wasn't impressed with the flavor of these beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Excellent! Just like my Portuguese mother-in-law makes! I used just 1 tsp of red pepper flakes and I think next time I'll use just a tad less than that. ETA: My IL's thought that it wasn't spicy enough! They said that in Portugal, you eat favas while drinking wine and it is supposed to be spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I'd like to try this with fresh fava beans sometime, as I just realized I don't like canned ones - of course, I've only had fresh ones before so my expectations were a bit off. Anyway, regardless of the fact I was disappointed in the flavor and texture of the canned beans, I still enjoyed this, but as written it would have been WAY too spicy for me - I should have stuck with my instinct (knowing my preferences) and gone with just about a TEASPOON of red pepper flakes instead of two teaspoons. Fortunately, I served with potatoes and linguica, so when the spice from the sauce got to be too much, I just mixed potatoes and linguica in with the beans and it mellowed the spice a bit - and actually made a nice dish! Other than reducing the pepper flakes (but not enough for me!), my only change was to use a small can (about 3/4 cup) tomato sauce and the same amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is one great tasting recipe. I had to cut back on the red pepper flakes and I cracked 4 eggs and dropped them in the sauce as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rwhitetail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I grew up on portuguese food and must admit that this was very good. a little too spicy, so next time, i will cut back on the red pepper flakes. juicy, flavorful, colorful... great over rice! even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I've been looking for this recipe forever!! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deliciosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These are great but to make them even better I add chourico. That's how my mom used to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this last night for the family and it was a big hit! I agree, it does taste just like the ones you get at the feast! I love spicy food and this hit my taste bud's real good! Looove it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States