Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
mmmmm. THese were soo good. I was doubtful because the recipe looked so easy, but they were gone in 10 minutes. I didn't have a vanilla pod so I used 2 tsp vanilla essence, which was fine. I used the best ever pie crust from this site, and this worked really well. I was tempted to find a pie crust recipe which had sugar in it, but this one is perfect (and soo easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used mini muffin cups, the filling was enough for 30, and I used 1 and a half packages of puff pastry. Everyone wanted the recipe. The smaller "pasteis" were just perfect for a sweet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The traditional way to line the cups is to take the sheet of puff pastry and roll it into a loaf, then cut slices and place the in the cups, pressing down so that the dough flattens and there is a bit of a rim of thicker pastry at the top. That way they come out with very crispy and flaky shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
WOW ---- YUUUUUUUUMMMMMMYYYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVER00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
These are just like the Pasteis I get from the bakery down the street.. They are so yummy and easy to make. I love Portuguese food being 100% Portuguese myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
very easy to make, one of the best custards I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Wonderfully easy to make and very very good! Used the Best ever pie Crust recipe from this site for the pastry. I love portugese egg tarts and this totally satisfied my craving! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! I added a lemon rind whilst cooking the custard and took it out before baking. It gave it a nice taste! Really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Great pasteis...I had to make more because they were gone instantly. Yummy warm with a sprinkle of cinnamon or powered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I forgot to temper the eggs with hot milk so I ended up straining out egg solids and adding more yolk. It still came out great although I think it was a little too sweet for me. I also had no vanilla extract so I used coconut powder. Instead of puff pastry I brushed phyllo dough with melted butter, sprinkled with sugar and layered 5 to 6 sheets. It came out rather thin and the bottom was soggy so I probably needed more layers. The top was brown and flaky and just melted in my mouth. MM! There were egg whites left over so I handwhipped some into meringue with cream of tartar and some sugar and placed dollops on top of the tarts. They look "cute" according to my girlfriend and the custard was delicious! Although the custard did foam up during baking which sort of compromised the texture. I think the heat may have been too high even though I made them at 350. Next time I'm going to try it at 300. The cornstarch made the custard a little too pasty for my taste so maybe I'll cut that in half next time. Thanks for this, it's a good substitute for the Hong Kong style Egg Tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States