Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The traditional way to line the cups is to take the sheet of puff pastry and roll it into a loaf, then cut slices and place the in the cups, pressing down so that the dough flattens and there is a bit of a rim of thicker pastry at the top. That way they come out with very crispy and flaky shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I grew up eating these custards in Macau (a Portuguese colony) so i came in as a tough critique. This was my first time however actually make this, for some reason i though it would be really hard, but i was amazed how easy it was. My whole family loved them, they were gone in several hours. My only suggestion is to use the paper muffin liners. I sprayed half my pan and used the muffin liners for the other half and the greased ones stuck pretty bad, but the paper was great. I also used trader Joes puff pastry and just cut squares for ease... They looked a little different than the authentic ones, but the taste is excellent. I will definitely make again. Oh.. I also used a half tsp of vanilla instead of the vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used mini muffin cups, the filling was enough for 30, and I used 1 and a half packages of puff pastry. Everyone wanted the recipe. The smaller "pasteis" were just perfect for a sweet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Easy to make and yummy too. The sweetness blended very well with the puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
mmmmm. THese were soo good. I was doubtful because the recipe looked so easy, but they were gone in 10 minutes. I didn't have a vanilla pod so I used 2 tsp vanilla essence, which was fine. I used the best ever pie crust from this site, and this worked really well. I was tempted to find a pie crust recipe which had sugar in it, but this one is perfect (and soo easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is just like the ones my grandmother would get that were imported on special holidays; I gave her one, and my mom, and and aunt and they loved them! I actually topped them with fresh raspberries and the flavours whent together perfectly! My grandma told me to call her the next time I make them so we can do it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I had these in Europe and was dying to make them at home. The custard is very delicious and very easy to prepare. The puff pastry was a bit tricky and time-consuming to work with in the muffin cups. I think I will attempt to use another type of pastry that has a bit more of a delicate and flakier texture like of the one's I experienced in Europe. Nonetheless, these custard tarts were yummy and I will make them again, just gotta find that perfect pastry to compliment the custard. Obrigado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
These are just like the Pasteis I get from the bakery down the street.. They are so yummy and easy to make. I love Portuguese food being 100% Portuguese myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
very easy to make, one of the best custards I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
WOW ---- YUUUUUUUUMMMMMMYYYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVER00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States