Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used mini muffin cups, the filling was enough for 30, and I used 1 and a half packages of puff pastry. Everyone wanted the recipe. The smaller "pasteis" were just perfect for a sweet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I forgot to temper the eggs with hot milk so I ended up straining out egg solids and adding more yolk. It still came out great although I think it was a little too sweet for me. I also had no vanilla extract so I used coconut powder. Instead of puff pastry I brushed phyllo dough with melted butter, sprinkled with sugar and layered 5 to 6 sheets. It came out rather thin and the bottom was soggy so I probably needed more layers. The top was brown and flaky and just melted in my mouth. MM! There were egg whites left over so I handwhipped some into meringue with cream of tartar and some sugar and placed dollops on top of the tarts. They look "cute" according to my girlfriend and the custard was delicious! Although the custard did foam up during baking which sort of compromised the texture. I think the heat may have been too high even though I made them at 350. Next time I'm going to try it at 300. The cornstarch made the custard a little too pasty for my taste so maybe I'll cut that in half next time. Thanks for this, it's a good substitute for the Hong Kong style Egg Tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Great pasteis...I had to make more because they were gone instantly. Yummy warm with a sprinkle of cinnamon or powered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The traditional way to line the cups is to take the sheet of puff pastry and roll it into a loaf, then cut slices and place the in the cups, pressing down so that the dough flattens and there is a bit of a rim of thicker pastry at the top. That way they come out with very crispy and flaky shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! I added a lemon rind whilst cooking the custard and took it out before baking. It gave it a nice taste! Really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
mmmmm. THese were soo good. I was doubtful because the recipe looked so easy, but they were gone in 10 minutes. I didn't have a vanilla pod so I used 2 tsp vanilla essence, which was fine. I used the best ever pie crust from this site, and this worked really well. I was tempted to find a pie crust recipe which had sugar in it, but this one is perfect (and soo easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I had these in Europe and was dying to make them at home. The custard is very delicious and very easy to prepare. The puff pastry was a bit tricky and time-consuming to work with in the muffin cups. I think I will attempt to use another type of pastry that has a bit more of a delicate and flakier texture like of the one's I experienced in Europe. Nonetheless, these custard tarts were yummy and I will make them again, just gotta find that perfect pastry to compliment the custard. Obrigado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
this was very good and easy to make. i've never made these sorts of tarts before and i found when i finished the custard it was quite thick and i wasn't sure if that was right so i added some more milk. when they finished baking the custard puffed up nicely but then when the tarts cooled the custard fell. perhaps because i had whisked it quite a bit. anyways the flavour was nice and i will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Wonderfully easy to make and very very good! Used the Best ever pie Crust recipe from this site for the pastry. I love portugese egg tarts and this totally satisfied my craving! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This was a great, easy recipe for a bakery treat. I made them for my brother in law and they were a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States