Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Big hit with our guests. One was from Argentina and when he tasted these he said it brought back fond memories. Said his mom used to make them a lot. He asked for the recipe. They were easy and certainly tasty. The only thing I would recommend would be to maybe add something fruity, like a fruit sauce or something. Or even a chocolate sauce, or something to that effect. I think that would liven them up a lot. Give them another flavor dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Husband went bananas over these! Followed the advice of one reviewer and rolled the dough into a loaf, split in half, then cut the halves into thirds. They took up most of the muffin space, but just pour that custard right over. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I grew up eating these custards in Macau (a Portuguese colony) so i came in as a tough critique. This was my first time however actually make this, for some reason i though it would be really hard, but i was amazed how easy it was. My whole family loved them, they were gone in several hours. My only suggestion is to use the paper muffin liners. I sprayed half my pan and used the muffin liners for the other half and the greased ones stuck pretty bad, but the paper was great. I also used trader Joes puff pastry and just cut squares for ease... They looked a little different than the authentic ones, but the taste is excellent. I will definitely make again. Oh.. I also used a half tsp of vanilla instead of the vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
The ingedients are perfect but the directions lack a little. My custard took less than 2 mins to thicken and do note that once it starts to thicken to goes very very quick and is a thick gel in less than a min. Also the puff pastery can be rolled quite thin (1/8") and still puffs up tons, but dont try to re-roll scraps that doesn't really work. Next time around Im sure they will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ween's Cuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
The custard filling is so good. Just like the ones I loved in Portugal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lisa Lee
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were delicious! We loved them... one tip, roll out the puff pastry so that they're fairly thin - the custard flavor was overwhelmed with the pastry when it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dorothylim
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I reduced the sugar by a third, but still found the custard a little too sweet. In place of vanilla, I used a few tablespoons of coconut cream instead. The coconut gave the custard a rich, fragrant flavour. This recipe is really easy, and the tarts tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorothylim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is just like the ones my grandmother would get that were imported on special holidays; I gave her one, and my mom, and and aunt and they loved them! I actually topped them with fresh raspberries and the flavours whent together perfectly! My grandma told me to call her the next time I make them so we can do it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Easy to make and yummy too. The sweetness blended very well with the puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
great recipe.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States