Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
SURPRISE ! THIS IS DEELISH !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cLaUDiA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe is not even close to the original Pasteis de Nata. I think that puff pastry should not be used. I have just come back from Portugal so I was really hoping to find the recipe but this one was quite disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
The pastries taste good but the dough is really underbaked. Also the instructions for this recipe are poor - the recipe doesn't indicate the temperature for making the stovetop custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I had six leftover egg yolks that I didn't want to waste, so I decided to try this. I've never heard of Portugese Custard Tarts before, but they looked good. I didn't have a vanilla bean and substituted two tsp. of vanilla extract, but I immediately saw the wisdom of using the vanilla bean when I saw the extract made the milk & sugar mixture turn tan. It wasn't as noticeable after I added the egg yolks, but I think the finished custard would have been a brighter yellow if I hadn't used the extract. I didn't find it a problem to put the puff pastry into the muffin tins, as some have said. I just cut the sheet into 12 pieces, which happened to be slightly rectangular in shape, and I just pulled them a bit to make them square and they tucked into the muffin tins with no problem. I had no problem with them sticking, either. I like the contrast of the creamy filling and the crisp puff pastry. The tarts are very sweet, maybe almost too sweet, but having never tasted them before, maybe that's just the way they're supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I never thought of trying to bake these until now. I was very skeptical because I've always been told they are too difficult to get right. I'm so glad I did! I had to add 5 minutes to the cook time (I have an electric oven)and then I turned the broiler on for another 5 minutes to get that nice brown color on top of the custard. Not quite the bakery quality I grew up eating but I have to admit - even for my 'picky' self - the custard was a great consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The custard is amazing! I used phyllo pastry and while it is very good, I will use a sweeter dough next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I actually made the custard the day before, then filled and baked the tarts the next day. I agree the puff pastry was not easy to deal with,so I used regular frozen tartlet shells for half of them. The custard was great, though I only used 1/3 cup sugar and still found it a bit too sweet. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by icesx
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Excellent recipe! These were exactly like the tarts we buy at a local Portuguese bakery, but for a fraction of the price, and not very difficult to make at all. As a previous member had suggested, I rolled up the dough and cut slices off the log. The custard was absolutely delicious, my whole family loved them, and I'm sure will be requesting them again soon. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I went to Portugal a few years ago. I find myself craving these once in a while now. Nothing can beat the pasteis in Belem...but these do the trick for my cravings! Very easy recipe. The hardest part is shaping the pastry into cups. I will definitely be making these again! But I think I am going to try a homemade crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I would use 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup. Imagine 1 cup of milk with 1 cup of sugar...way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States