Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I also grew up with these AMAZING tarts and thought I'd try this recipe. Sorry everyone but not even close to the traditional ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I would have given 5 stars but the recipe did not give the temperature for cooking the custard. Also didn't say to remove the custard from the heat after you cook it for 5 minutes.The custard will burn quickly after the 5 minutes. Great tasking custard tart. Made it twice already.To save time I used the packaged frozen tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
As close to buying these in a Portuguese bakery in Newark as you can get in your own kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy_Belle
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These turned out fantastic. Very true to the authentic Portuguese version. I would only suggest perhaps cutting down the sugar a tad bit, I felt they were a bit too sweet. I also used vanilla extract instead of the bean and added a pinch of cinnamon to the mixture as well as a sprinking on top (as is traditional in Lisbon). I will definitely be making these again. Unlike other reviewers, I had no issues with the puff pastry and I also left them in the oven for about 5 extra minutes because I wanted a browner top on the custard. But excellent recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Just like the ones from the portuguese bakery and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My husband is Portuguese, and Pasteis de Nata are one of his all-time favorites. I made this recipe for him, and you could see the trip down memory lane on his face as he ate one. He said the custard was spot on, and his only suggestion was that the puff pastry be rolled out a little thinner. I will most definitely be making these often, as hubby just loved them. I had never had one before, and thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Knapp Costa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made these againt last week. Great. My recipes are from my mom, Christina L Pacheco. Many other recipes are from my Titia Teolinda - authentic pastries originating from Sao Miguel, Azores
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Pacheco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
SURPRISE ! THIS IS DEELISH !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cLaUDiA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe is not even close to the original Pasteis de Nata. I think that puff pastry should not be used. I have just come back from Portugal so I was really hoping to find the recipe but this one was quite disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
The pastries taste good but the dough is really underbaked. Also the instructions for this recipe are poor - the recipe doesn't indicate the temperature for making the stovetop custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States