Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
HOLY COW THESE ARE GOOD! and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
used whipping cream instead of milk...smooth, creamy finish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I'm sorry these were only okay though. 1st time: Followed recipie exactly--(i hate overly sweet things so cut the sugar to 1/2 cup). I first made the egg part, then i made the crust (which takes pretty long time to roll and push into the muffin pan) so by then the custard part had hardened, so i reheated it and then put it in the oven (that was my fault). 20 minutes exact and they were good to go. But theyre a little to..."starchy" for us. We prefer the really light egg custards that taste almost like steamed eggs, so they were only okayyy. 2nd time: Reduced starch to 1 tablespoon, cut sugar to 1/4 cup (because they were still too sweet). Did crust first, then custard, but the custard turned out bad and was more like scrambled eggs, so DO NOT OVERCOOK!!! Stop when its liquidy thick, but not solid thick thick. Hope it helps...if you're gonna use this recipie...I'm trying some other recipie we invented on the spot because of the failure of these...post back when they're done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I also grew up with these AMAZING tarts and thought I'd try this recipe. Sorry everyone but not even close to the traditional ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I would have given 5 stars but the recipe did not give the temperature for cooking the custard. Also didn't say to remove the custard from the heat after you cook it for 5 minutes.The custard will burn quickly after the 5 minutes. Great tasking custard tart. Made it twice already.To save time I used the packaged frozen tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
As close to buying these in a Portuguese bakery in Newark as you can get in your own kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy_Belle
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These turned out fantastic. Very true to the authentic Portuguese version. I would only suggest perhaps cutting down the sugar a tad bit, I felt they were a bit too sweet. I also used vanilla extract instead of the bean and added a pinch of cinnamon to the mixture as well as a sprinking on top (as is traditional in Lisbon). I will definitely be making these again. Unlike other reviewers, I had no issues with the puff pastry and I also left them in the oven for about 5 extra minutes because I wanted a browner top on the custard. But excellent recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Just like the ones from the portuguese bakery and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My husband is Portuguese, and Pasteis de Nata are one of his all-time favorites. I made this recipe for him, and you could see the trip down memory lane on his face as he ate one. He said the custard was spot on, and his only suggestion was that the puff pastry be rolled out a little thinner. I will most definitely be making these often, as hubby just loved them. I had never had one before, and thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Knapp Costa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made these againt last week. Great. My recipes are from my mom, Christina L Pacheco. Many other recipes are from my Titia Teolinda - authentic pastries originating from Sao Miguel, Azores
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Pacheco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States