Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I wanted to try making my own egg tarts- hoping that it would taste like those authentic macanese/portuguese egg tarts. so i tried this at home... i had to make my own dough because there's no available frozen puff pastry at the groceries. anyway, i made 2 sets. the first set with this recipe (The filling) and the second was another recipe from another site. After baking, it turned out that this recipe is too sweet. It didn't look like the filling in the picture. it looks quite lumpy- i probably didn't get it right-haha. the second recipe however was quite good. this is just my own opinion though- the second one actually tasted better and the taste is kinda like the macau egg tarts. :) but this one is still good- my brother liked this one better. I guess it depends on people taste. thanks for the recipe by the way. I'm able to explore different types of fillings & recipes for egg tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very tasty. I never liked custard much and wanted to use up my puff pastry and these are really good. A bit tricky to get a 9"x9" pastry to fit muffin cups, but manageable. I think Pepperidge Farm has a product that comes in puff pastry shells that may be easier. I also think since I don't care for custard that adding lemon zest/juice to custard filling would be a good variation, or maybe even a chocolate custard. Overall, a very good simple recipe that turns out a very elegant tart, suitable for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I had to substitute vanilla beans for vanilla extract. I was told they're really expensive + I couldn't find them anywhere. Also I used Tenderflake tart cups which were the only ones I could find at my grocery store but the result was really yummy and good! I didn't like that the recipe didn't say what temperature the custard should be cooked on so I had to improvise and that really worried me because of how much ingredients I was using- I didn't want to mess up. And on step two, it wasn't exactly clear. I know you're supposed to red the recipe first thoroughly but I didn't. So I didn't know you weren't supposed to combine all the milk with the cornstarch, sugar and vanilla bean. Then I read the next part. I only had one pot to work with, how could I make warmed milk with no other pot?! AND I already added all the milk to the sauce pan. I ended having to put the egg yolks into that mixture. There was no issue in the results I just wish that the recipe was more clear. They were a bit sweet so I think that is what made them differ from the ones I get from the bakery. Of all the people who tried them, everyone like them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
The crust was the best the only part not made. The egg mixture was just fine and will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is even better than my favorite egg tarts at the dimsum restaurants.... SO AMAZING. You must try this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by May L.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
So easy to make. It takes 40 min just to thaw out your puff pastry so account for that time. These are very delicate and tasty. I didn't find them too sweet at all. Mine popped right out of my muffin tin. No sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I always make these tarts whenever I have egg yolks in need of use. Comes out perfect every time. I don't have a vanilla bean lying around, though, so I use a tsp of vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Simple, easy, and very good. I have a slightly different version of this, instead of a vanilla bean, I put a cinnamon stick into the milk mixture, and then at the end poured in 1/2 tsp vanilla. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These received numerous rave reviews from a dinner party I hosted and I must say they are delicious but definitely very sweet. I think the tough critics probably overcooked the custard custard rushed the milk and egg mixing and so were not pleased with the texture. The vanilla bean is a must and makes the custard delectable. Made these again last Christmas Eve and got a call the next morning about how good they were! Kudos to you John for making me look good. Will always make these for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
The custard part of this recipe is BRILLIANT. I mean, wonderful!!! Mine didn't turn out exactly right because I didn't put enough custard into the tarts- they ended up with just a slight coating that turned chewy during the baking. Totally my fault. But I ate the rest of the custard right out of the pan so it was ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellysc99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States