Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
The crust was the best the only part not made. The egg mixture was just fine and will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is even better than my favorite egg tarts at the dimsum restaurants.... SO AMAZING. You must try this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by May L.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
So easy to make. It takes 40 min just to thaw out your puff pastry so account for that time. These are very delicate and tasty. I didn't find them too sweet at all. Mine popped right out of my muffin tin. No sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I always make these tarts whenever I have egg yolks in need of use. Comes out perfect every time. I don't have a vanilla bean lying around, though, so I use a tsp of vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Simple, easy, and very good. I have a slightly different version of this, instead of a vanilla bean, I put a cinnamon stick into the milk mixture, and then at the end poured in 1/2 tsp vanilla. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These received numerous rave reviews from a dinner party I hosted and I must say they are delicious but definitely very sweet. I think the tough critics probably overcooked the custard custard rushed the milk and egg mixing and so were not pleased with the texture. The vanilla bean is a must and makes the custard delectable. Made these again last Christmas Eve and got a call the next morning about how good they were! Kudos to you John for making me look good. Will always make these for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
The custard part of this recipe is BRILLIANT. I mean, wonderful!!! Mine didn't turn out exactly right because I didn't put enough custard into the tarts- they ended up with just a slight coating that turned chewy during the baking. Totally my fault. But I ate the rest of the custard right out of the pan so it was ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellysc99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
HOLY COW THESE ARE GOOD! and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
used whipping cream instead of milk...smooth, creamy finish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I'm sorry these were only okay though. 1st time: Followed recipie exactly--(i hate overly sweet things so cut the sugar to 1/2 cup). I first made the egg part, then i made the crust (which takes pretty long time to roll and push into the muffin pan) so by then the custard part had hardened, so i reheated it and then put it in the oven (that was my fault). 20 minutes exact and they were good to go. But theyre a little to..."starchy" for us. We prefer the really light egg custards that taste almost like steamed eggs, so they were only okayyy. 2nd time: Reduced starch to 1 tablespoon, cut sugar to 1/4 cup (because they were still too sweet). Did crust first, then custard, but the custard turned out bad and was more like scrambled eggs, so DO NOT OVERCOOK!!! Stop when its liquidy thick, but not solid thick thick. Hope it helps...if you're gonna use this recipie...I'm trying some other recipie we invented on the spot because of the failure of these...post back when they're done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States