Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this recipe and it was gone within minutes! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I don't think I've ever rated anything one star before. Really, a failure all around. I used my stoneware muffin pan, cut the rounds of dough & rolled them out 1. the dough never cooked on the bottom, resulting in a doughy blob. 2. We salvaged the custard and it is just okay. Way too sweet, strange texture, too eggy, bland flavor. Would have preferred a pudding-like consistency. Won't make again and I love sweets & pastries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made them last weekend and they were super easy and delicious! I'm Portuguese, lived in Portugal for 28 years so I'm pretty familiar with these pastries and a huge fan!! The only thing I will try to change next time is the puff pastry. I'll try to make it thinner so it looks more like the original. I did add 2 cinnamon sticks and a little fresh squeezed lemon juice to the mixture in the pan - personal preference though! Thanks for sharing the recipe, a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Porto, Porto, Portugal
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome goodness. I used mini muffin tins and added a slice of banana on under the custard before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Mohamed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
So delicious and easy to make too! I make them in mini-muffin tins as well as the dough is easier to handle. Very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My husband is portuguese and said this didn't come close duplicating authentic pasteis de nata
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Working w/ the puff pastry was delicious and they don't taste like authentic pasteis de nata, but that's probably impossible w/o the super hot ovens they are normally made in. They were tasty and my guests liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the best and easiest recipe for natas! I used vanilla extract (about 2 tsp.) and some lemon zest in the custard. I also followed another suggestion about rolling the puff pastry into a log and cutting slices. It makes perfect circles when you roll the slices out. I sprayed the muffin tins and they popped right out. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I wanted to try making my own egg tarts- hoping that it would taste like those authentic macanese/portuguese egg tarts. so i tried this at home... i had to make my own dough because there's no available frozen puff pastry at the groceries. anyway, i made 2 sets. the first set with this recipe (The filling) and the second was another recipe from another site. After baking, it turned out that this recipe is too sweet. It didn't look like the filling in the picture. it looks quite lumpy- i probably didn't get it right-haha. the second recipe however was quite good. this is just my own opinion though- the second one actually tasted better and the taste is kinda like the macau egg tarts. :) but this one is still good- my brother liked this one better. I guess it depends on people taste. thanks for the recipe by the way. I'm able to explore different types of fillings & recipes for egg tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very tasty. I never liked custard much and wanted to use up my puff pastry and these are really good. A bit tricky to get a 9"x9" pastry to fit muffin cups, but manageable. I think Pepperidge Farm has a product that comes in puff pastry shells that may be easier. I also think since I don't care for custard that adding lemon zest/juice to custard filling would be a good variation, or maybe even a chocolate custard. Overall, a very good simple recipe that turns out a very elegant tart, suitable for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States