Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I don't think I've ever rated anything one star before. Really, a failure all around. I used my stoneware muffin pan, cut the rounds of dough & rolled them out 1. the dough never cooked on the bottom, resulting in a doughy blob. 2. We salvaged the custard and it is just okay. Way too sweet, strange texture, too eggy, bland flavor. Would have preferred a pudding-like consistency. Won't make again and I love sweets & pastries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made them last weekend and they were super easy and delicious! I'm Portuguese, lived in Portugal for 28 years so I'm pretty familiar with these pastries and a huge fan!! The only thing I will try to change next time is the puff pastry. I'll try to make it thinner so it looks more like the original. I did add 2 cinnamon sticks and a little fresh squeezed lemon juice to the mixture in the pan - personal preference though! Thanks for sharing the recipe, a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Porto, Porto, Portugal
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome goodness. I used mini muffin tins and added a slice of banana on under the custard before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
So delicious and easy to make too! I make them in mini-muffin tins as well as the dough is easier to handle. Very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My husband is portuguese and said this didn't come close duplicating authentic pasteis de nata
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Working w/ the puff pastry was delicious and they don't taste like authentic pasteis de nata, but that's probably impossible w/o the super hot ovens they are normally made in. They were tasty and my guests liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the best and easiest recipe for natas! I used vanilla extract (about 2 tsp.) and some lemon zest in the custard. I also followed another suggestion about rolling the puff pastry into a log and cutting slices. It makes perfect circles when you roll the slices out. I sprayed the muffin tins and they popped right out. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I wanted to try making my own egg tarts- hoping that it would taste like those authentic macanese/portuguese egg tarts. so i tried this at home... i had to make my own dough because there's no available frozen puff pastry at the groceries. anyway, i made 2 sets. the first set with this recipe (The filling) and the second was another recipe from another site. After baking, it turned out that this recipe is too sweet. It didn't look like the filling in the picture. it looks quite lumpy- i probably didn't get it right-haha. the second recipe however was quite good. this is just my own opinion though- the second one actually tasted better and the taste is kinda like the macau egg tarts. :) but this one is still good- my brother liked this one better. I guess it depends on people taste. thanks for the recipe by the way. I'm able to explore different types of fillings & recipes for egg tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very tasty. I never liked custard much and wanted to use up my puff pastry and these are really good. A bit tricky to get a 9"x9" pastry to fit muffin cups, but manageable. I think Pepperidge Farm has a product that comes in puff pastry shells that may be easier. I also think since I don't care for custard that adding lemon zest/juice to custard filling would be a good variation, or maybe even a chocolate custard. Overall, a very good simple recipe that turns out a very elegant tart, suitable for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I had to substitute vanilla beans for vanilla extract. I was told they're really expensive + I couldn't find them anywhere. Also I used Tenderflake tart cups which were the only ones I could find at my grocery store but the result was really yummy and good! I didn't like that the recipe didn't say what temperature the custard should be cooked on so I had to improvise and that really worried me because of how much ingredients I was using- I didn't want to mess up. And on step two, it wasn't exactly clear. I know you're supposed to red the recipe first thoroughly but I didn't. So I didn't know you weren't supposed to combine all the milk with the cornstarch, sugar and vanilla bean. Then I read the next part. I only had one pot to work with, how could I make warmed milk with no other pot?! AND I already added all the milk to the sauce pan. I ended having to put the egg yolks into that mixture. There was no issue in the results I just wish that the recipe was more clear. They were a bit sweet so I think that is what made them differ from the ones I get from the bakery. Of all the people who tried them, everyone like them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States