Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Being Portuguese and knowing how Pasteis de Nata should be, I must say that this is an easy short cut way to make them, And you can tell with the end result. The custard was too sweet, and the store bought puff pastry doesn't even come close to making it yourself. It isn't as crispy or buttery as home made. I would make this as a quick craving killer, but would never make this recipe for company and call it pasteis de nata. They are good tarts though, and this recipe is a very creative way of reinventing a complicated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My first rating and so worth it! Not only was this easy to make, but it was absolutely delicious! My only suggestion is to make a double batch! I will definitely be making these again! Thank you John, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My grandmother tought me how to make these in Portugal as a younger girl, this recipe was easier but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I really enjoyed these. I ate mine within minutes of coming out of the oven and I just loved them. A great recipe to use when you have a bunch of egg yolks laying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Hands down these are NOT portuguese egg tarts. These are more like baked custard tarts. And by custard, I mean kind of like the baked custard filling you'd find in a custard bun... And to no surprise really, the egg filling gets cooked prior to being put inside the oven? Looking back on the recipe, it doesn't make a whole lot of sense. Portuguese egg tarts taste like Hong Kong style ones, except they are creamier and with the slightly scorched tops. Hong Kong style ones don't require the filling to be cooked beforehand. So why the wierd directions? Either way NEVER trying these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I live near a very big Portuguese community, while the elements are there, the recipes custard portion is way too sweet and not custardy enough. My son loved them but they were way too sweet for me. I was disappointed because I love pasteis de nata and was hoping to save myself from having to drive to Newark everytime I want to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
These were very good, but waaaay too sweet. Next time I will try halving the sugar and see what happens. That said, this is a good solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
These were very easy to make. I rolled out the puff pastry and used a glass to cut circles out. I placed the pastry circles into a muffin tin. Everyone freaked out how good they were. This will definitly impress your family and friends. Better than the ones you get in a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My husband is portuguese and we get pasteis de nata for almost every family dinner from a bakery downtown. I can assure you I will be making them instead and saving time and $. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Delicious! But the sugar definitely has be cut down in half. A little too sweet but that's a personal preference. So easy to make and cheap as well. I am addicted to these and the bakery sells then for about $1 for one, and I can never eat just one, so definitely easier on my wallet when I make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States