Portuguese Custard Tarts - Pasteis de Nata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
These do not look authentic when finished, but the flavor is awesome! I actually liked these better than the ones sold at my neighborhood portuguese bakery! However my sister tried this recipe with vanilla bean, and another batch with vanilla extract. Vanilla bean is the way to go! These are so yummie!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made these with homemade Danish pastry, and they were absolutely delicious. I cut out 2 1/2"X 1/2" circles of the pastry, pressed it into muffin cups, leaving a 1/4-1/2" ridge around the top, and let it rise about 20 minutes. I pressed the bottom of the danish pastry down inside the muffin cup before spooning in the filling to make make more room for filling. When the pastries were cooled, I drizzled chocolate frosting decoratively (hopefully) over the tops and chilled. The flavors reminded me of chocolate eclairs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Tried these from a bakery last week and LOVED them! Thought that I would try them at home and found this recipe. It was just like what I had from the bakery. I rolled out each puff pastry piece to 10x12, rolled them into logs and cut each log into 6 pieces. Rolled each piece to a circular shape to fit into the muffin pan. This worked really well. I will definitely make these again. YUM YUM! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Henderson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
very good. keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
these were fantastic! i made these for the 1st time for christmas eve and christmas day dinners and they were a hit on both occasions. i didn't use all egg yolks. i did some full eggs and some just egg yolks. when i used just egg yolks, the mixture turned out a bit too thick for my liking. i also rolled the puff pastry dough out thinner to create a more delicate cup. otherwise, the pastry is too thick and doesn't cook thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was a great recipe. Even my kids loved it! Mine were done at 20 min. I continued to cook them longer to get that "browning" on top, but should not have. Next time I'll take them out and skip the browing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brambleberries

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Being Portuguese myself, I was a pretty tough critic....but these were delicious.........not expensive to make but expensive to buy from a specialty bakery!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Being Portuguese and knowing how Pasteis de Nata should be, I must say that this is an easy short cut way to make them, And you can tell with the end result. The custard was too sweet, and the store bought puff pastry doesn't even come close to making it yourself. It isn't as crispy or buttery as home made. I would make this as a quick craving killer, but would never make this recipe for company and call it pasteis de nata. They are good tarts though, and this recipe is a very creative way of reinventing a complicated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My first rating and so worth it! Not only was this easy to make, but it was absolutely delicious! My only suggestion is to make a double batch! I will definitely be making these again! Thank you John, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My grandmother tought me how to make these in Portugal as a younger girl, this recipe was easier but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States