Portuguese Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
A good basic leavened cornbread recipe to which you can add extras like chopped chili, capsicums, fresh corn, salami etc. Bread is more successful if kneaded for 10-15mins prior to first rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
We were looking for a recipie for Broa and were so glad to find one. It turned out pretty good, but it doesn't keep very well. My husband was used to broa looking darker although it does taste similar to what he remembers. He thinks you need a special oven for the darker color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I wasn't expecting this to be so heavy! I guess I should have figured it would be, given the amount of cornmeal in it. It's not moist in the way that quick bread cornbread is, and it's not light in the way that yeast bread is. Anyway, once I got used to it, I kinda liked it. You might too, especially if you are a big fan of soup; I think it would be really good with a tomato-based soup. 7-2-2006: I made this again. This time I kneaded it more; it rose higher and was lighter than the last time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
unless I did not do this recipe correctly, it is not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I love yeasted cornbread and this is basically a good recipe but the instructions are a bit off. It's best if you knead the dough for a few minutes before the 1st rise, which should be about 60 to 90 minutes, not 30 as stated. The 2nd rise may take longer than 30 minutes ie 45 or 50. Rather than pulverise the cornmeal in the blender I used a fine cornmeal that I bought at the Italian grocers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I didn't go with the time that was said in the recipe...I left it in the oven till it was a nice golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is not like the Portuguese cornbread that I'm used to. This is very dense and heavy. It did not darken up as much as I thought it would and to me it tastes heavily of olive oil. I don't think I'd make this again. Also, the second rise needed longer I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This bread was great, however I made some changes: I followed the kneading/rising instructions by Ruby2 and I didn't have cornmeal so I used stone ground grits (This made the bread crunchy). all in all, I think I'll use cornmeal next time. Thanks! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States