Portuguese Cod Fish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I am American and my husband is Portuguese. I am always looking for meal to make my husband that would remind him of Portugal. He LOVED this one and bragged to his buddies at the café how his American wife cooks very good Portuguese food. The best compliment came from my in-laws. I soak my cod fish for two days, otherwise it's too salty and I do not add any additional salt. This is easy and soooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is really good. We didn't have salted cod, we used frozen and let it soak for an hour to defrost with some salted water. We skipped the potatoes and doubled the onions and garlic. Very tasty. Made the day before and reheated in a covered frying pan. Great after soaking up flavor for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Loved it!! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made some changes to fit what is in my kitchen but wish I didn't have to. I used mashed potatoes on top, garlic powder, and the whole 4oz can of tomato sauce. I used fresh cod instead of salted and diced hablono peppers instead of red flakes. STILL amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
A recipe using simple ingredients with tasty results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Kelliher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was really great! It got five stars from my Portuguese husband and his sister. I did use fresh cod and heavily salted it. I also used piri piri sauce instead of red pepper flakes. I'm sure red pepper flakes would have given it a good amount of heat but the Portuguese people in my life live off piri piri peppers/sauce so it had to be subbed. Thank you so much for sharing! This will definitely be in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I didn't have salted cod, just fresh cod. It would have been good I think if there wasn't so much oil and I had added salt to it - but as i'm trying to watch my sodium ...this didn't work for me. Im giving it 4 stars because I think if i'd added salt, it would have rated that but even if I had it was too much oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
delicious! I added diced red peppers. next time i'll make sure to cut the potatoes more thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Griffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
My husband and I both thought this recipe was great. As some others, I used fresh cod (not salted cod) and still liked the way it came out. For those who like a saltier taste and are using fresh cod, just salt between the layers as you put the ingredients into the baking dish. Next time I'll use a larger dish. My 7x11 pan was overstuffed! All of the ingredients were cooked to perfection (not too little/not too much). I was hesitant to use 3/4 cup of olive oil, but - really - that was not too much. Thanks for such a nice recipe - something a little different from what I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Very easy and very good. I might add some parmesan and herbs next time for more depth and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States