Portuguese Cod Fish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Loved it!! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made some changes to fit what is in my kitchen but wish I didn't have to. I used mashed potatoes on top, garlic powder, and the whole 4oz can of tomato sauce. I used fresh cod instead of salted and diced hablono peppers instead of red flakes. STILL amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
A recipe using simple ingredients with tasty results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Kelliher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was really great! It got five stars from my Portuguese husband and his sister. I did use fresh cod and heavily salted it. I also used piri piri sauce instead of red pepper flakes. I'm sure red pepper flakes would have given it a good amount of heat but the Portuguese people in my life live off piri piri peppers/sauce so it had to be subbed. Thank you so much for sharing! This will definitely be in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I didn't have salted cod, just fresh cod. It would have been good I think if there wasn't so much oil and I had added salt to it - but as i'm trying to watch my sodium ...this didn't work for me. Im giving it 4 stars because I think if i'd added salt, it would have rated that but even if I had it was too much oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
delicious! I added diced red peppers. next time i'll make sure to cut the potatoes more thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Griffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
My husband and I both thought this recipe was great. As some others, I used fresh cod (not salted cod) and still liked the way it came out. For those who like a saltier taste and are using fresh cod, just salt between the layers as you put the ingredients into the baking dish. Next time I'll use a larger dish. My 7x11 pan was overstuffed! All of the ingredients were cooked to perfection (not too little/not too much). I was hesitant to use 3/4 cup of olive oil, but - really - that was not too much. Thanks for such a nice recipe - something a little different from what I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Very easy and very good. I might add some parmesan and herbs next time for more depth and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
We love baked cod and are always looking for new ways to prepare. I followed others suggestions and used fresh cod, skipped the potatoes because we are on a low carb diet and halved the red pepper (personal taste). I added salt to the sauce since this was not salted cod that I was using.I left out the paprika because I didn't have any on hand. Even before cooking,I found the sauce to be wonderful. We are tempted to use it alone as a dipping sauce,very yummy! I did add pitted black olives at the end since this is the way our local Portuguese restaurant serves this. Will definately make again and highly recommend! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Excellent! Just like my mom's!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States