Portuguese Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TITOGOMEZ
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Feel good soup. Nice flavor combo but it's missing something. Would recommend adding celery or carrots to really bring it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
so simple it was a joy to make. a very different chicken soup--you don't have to be sick to really appreciate. chicken noodle soup & mint = GENIUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
We absolutely loved this version of chicken noodle soup. It'll be my new favorite, because it's so tasty for so little effort. I used a leftover rotisserie carcass, so my meat wasn't all pretty and julienned, but it was delicious and thrifty nonetheless. I served with lemon juice to splash in at the table. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used powdered chicken bouillon and it was WAY too salty, even when no more salt was added at the end. I will try unsalted chicken bouillon (if such a thing exists), only add half as much of the bouillon, or canned broth next time. Ended up simmering it with a washed and peeled potato to remove some of the salt. Other than the saltiness, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Before I added the noodles, it was exactly like the soup I eat and LOVE at the Japanese Hibachi restaurants! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great, simple chicken soup. The lemon is an unexpected surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Taste was great, family really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I've made this soup 4 times now. Its amazing and simple. I made a few changes this most recent time that I was pleased with. I switched out the lemon for a lime. I actually just cut it up into quarters and stuck the whole thing in to get more of the lime juice and more of an intense flavor. I also omitted the the parsley and upped the mint. White pepper is a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
the flavors of lemon and mint in this soup are perfect in this soup. the only thing i added was a dash of garlic powder to the broth. and at the end i used the juice of about 3/4 of a lemon. does anyone know if this is an authentic portuguese soup? the only ones i have heard of before have kale and chourico or linguica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States