Portuguese Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
We loved it. We used 4 T of lemon juice (not listed in ingredients, but it is in recipe w/o quantity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I've made this soup 4 times now. Its amazing and simple. I made a few changes this most recent time that I was pleased with. I switched out the lemon for a lime. I actually just cut it up into quarters and stuck the whole thing in to get more of the lime juice and more of an intense flavor. I also omitted the the parsley and upped the mint. White pepper is a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
The only changes I made were to briefly sear the chicken (I used skinless boneless breasts) in a little olive oil as I can't stand the look/texture of boiled chicken, and I used wide egg noodles. Like previous reviewers, I also added in some fresh lemon juice. This is such a delicious, fresh-tasting soup. I know I'll be making it again (probably tomorrow). Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great, simple chicken soup. The lemon is an unexpected surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Before I added the noodles, it was exactly like the soup I eat and LOVE at the Japanese Hibachi restaurants! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Taste was great, family really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Very unique chicken noodle soup, great if you are in the mood for something a little sour and tangy. I used 4 tablespoons of lemon juice right at the end as others suggested. Less could be used (you could add a tablespoon at a time to find the right balance for your tastes). With the lemon juice, mine didn't need salt. My only change was I used probably closer to a cup of noodles (whatever was left in the bag). Definitely will make it again when I have fresh mint on hand I need to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used powdered chicken bouillon and it was WAY too salty, even when no more salt was added at the end. I will try unsalted chicken bouillon (if such a thing exists), only add half as much of the bouillon, or canned broth next time. Ended up simmering it with a washed and peeled potato to remove some of the salt. Other than the saltiness, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
The lemon and mint are a nice twist to a comfort classic. I served with a crispy baguette. Mmmmm....so good dipped in the sour broth. A definite Sunday afternoon must-try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States