Portuguese Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Too bland for my family. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very good. Used skinless chicken breasts and it came out tender and yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was good, the meat was extremely tender and delicious. Used chicken quarters, subbed half the butter with olive oil, used nonfat Greek yogurt instead of heavy cream and added some onion and mushroom. Served with Jasmine rice and steamed broccoli and cauliflower. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Made this the other night and it was very good although my hubby said it was to buttery (meaning unhealthy). I used 3/4 c milk & 1/4 c butter as a substitute because I didn't have heavy cream. I also used chicken legs (thighs & drums), very tender. I will make this again but maybe try 1/4 c olive oil instead of butter as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Really good recipe, will definitely be making again. I noticed that the sauce base was really close to one that I use for making sauteed mushrooms, so I sliced some up and tossed them in. Turned out fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Really yummy! I made exactly as stated, except at the point that you take the chicken out, once cool enough to handle, I shredded it and put back in the sauce. I thought my kids would appreciate that! I did use bone in and skin on chicken, I am sure that gave it more flavor somehow! The sauce never got very thick, but I served over rice and it was rather soupy, but delicious. Flavor was very good. My family (including my 3 year old) loved it. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Very easy to make and the family really liked it. I added an onion and used half and half rather than heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Surland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Wonderful intense flavour. Easy to make as a weeknight meal. Very rich tasting and delicious. I have already made this many times for my family and company and have had guests ask me for this recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSANNA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is one of my new favorite dishes!! I made it according to the recipe and I wouldnt change a thing! I plan to make this when I guests over next. Its devine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stepharoni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darrah_D
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This dish..though I was a little hesitant at first...came out fantastic! For those of you who did not use bone-in with skin, you are certainly not getting the full effect. I used 5 garlic cloves when cooking the chicken, and did not have a lid for the skillet I used, so I had to use tin foil...never have I cooked a more juicy, perfect piece of chicken...it was to die for. After removing the chicken (mine only needed 30 mins), I sprinkled a bit of garlic salt and cracked pepper over the mixture before adding the cream...and I didn't quite boil down to 1 1/2 C, I just used a bit more heavy cream and a little more patience (I would advise you use at least 2 cups of the liquid anyway, you might need the extra gravy..why not? You're already consuming most of your caloric intake for the day!). This dish does take awhile to complete. I served this over homemade garlic mashed potatoes and I don't know what could be more fitting, but if you're more of a rice person, I'm sure its just as great with the sauce. If your sauce is runny, like alot of people have mentioned, I would highly advise that when its at a point that its coating your spoon adequately, take the pan off, remove the chicken and set the pan aside for about 10 mins...the sauce will thicken upon standing. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrah_D

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States