Portuguese Burnt Sugar Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was a great,simple recipe. I doubled it and replaced the vineger for a packet of watermelon koolaide dissolved in a tablespoon of water. It came out delicious. Shaping it is a little tricky as it flattens out some but I'm going to try pouring it into molds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mramming
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I added some cinnamon flavoring and sprinkles for a festive look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mramming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Add a tablespoon of vinegar or 1/4 tsp citric acid powder in with the vinegar for a tangier taste. I loved the bittersweet edge on these as written though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fun and simple recipe! As long as you cook it long enough it's really not too much trouble to twist them. (Though yes it is very hot!) I just used a twisting while pulling method and cut them in short strips. I also found that this is only difficult and messy when you don't cook them for long enough. They become sticky and don't harden fast making them impossible to twist and set aside (they'll even stick to the plate!) A good way to also tell when its time to pour is when it starts smelling a little burnt. I tired 2 variations of this. This first I added vanilla extract and it came out, I think, the same way it would have come out without it. A sort of butterscotch taste~ The second I added some lemon juice and red food coloring and they came out beautiful! I would only recommend it though if you like a burnt/bitter taste to your candy. Otherwise the taste would have been perfect. Sweet with a little tartness. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very delightful! I added a couple drops of lemon juice to them (as well as un-needed food coloring just for fun) and they came out tasting like Honey Lemon drops. I put them in my tea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i made this candy as the directions said to and it came out tasting really good. Not tart but more buttery sorta like butter scotch. when i put it on plates it cooled very quickly on the edges. did not pull well at all! but my dad certainly loved it since he loves butter scotch candy!! will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This candy is just what Laura Ingalls Wilder made in her one of her "Little House on the Prairie" books (the big woods one, I think). Only she dropped it into snow banks and used maple sugar. Cool historical recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
hmm...i need to practice this one. Very messy and difficult to handle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lasicilia
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Fantastic...with a few additions! Note to self: Do NOT use raw sugar. I made this first with raw sugar because coming from Australia, it's cheaper. It went all hard and sugarcubey. Disgusting. I tried it again with caster sugar/white sugar..added, 1 tsp chinese five spice, 1 tsp aniseed essence and 1 tsp vanilla essence and it came out beautifully. For Aussies: the temp. of sugar rose to 125 degrees celcius before it was ready. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lasicilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Quick, simple and beautiful! The candy is very hot and begins to set up quickly. It does have to be done in a hurry, but even if the twists aren't perfect it still comes out great. My only changes were adding different extracts to different batches for more flavors, and food colorings so I could tell them apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States