Portuguese Bread French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Made this recipe with Italian Pandoro and it was wonderful. Had bread pudding consistency in dish and toasted on top. It was the hit of our Christmas Eve brunch. Easy to make, but has a sophisticated flavor. We cut the Pan d'oro in half vertically, then in 1/2" slices horizontally. Laid them in the glass dish at 45/angle. Pretty presentation. Smells great when it cooks. High awe factor. Don't overbake. Make sure this delicate dish doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is so very good. It reminds me of a bread pudding. I like to use thick slices of bread and omit the butter on top. It seems to come out a little more crispy on top which is the way we prefer it and nice and custard like in the middle. So good,you have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This turned out really well. I made it with the Portugese Bread from the bread machine recipe here, and the consistency was perfect. Light, not soggy at all, with a very nice flavor. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was great! I added some chocolate chips to the layers and it turned out great. This could probably serve 8-10 people since it is so rich and heavy. Since there are only two of us, we have been reheating it and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this for my family on Christmas morning and it was a BIG hit!! Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe was wonderful...I made it for company the first time and it was a huge hit. The Portuguese massa (sweet bread) really gives it a special flavor and texture. I will definitely make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The folks who are down rating this recipe are, I think, expecting it to make classic French toast. What it actually makes a kind of bread custard. And as such it is EXCELLENT. I fix it for special occasions like Thanksgiving or Christmas breakfast, and we love it. Be sure to submerge all the bread in the milk mixture and put it in the fridge overnight before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Took other reviewers advice and increased sugar to half a cup and added one extra egg yolk. I baked at 350° for 20 minutes and an 8 inch round pan. Turned out fabulous didn't last long in our house. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Pretty good. It's French Toast with a personality disorder . . .the bottom is like a custard and bread pudding French Toast as others have said, and the top is crusty and toast like, similar to pan fried French Toast. If you don't like a crusty top, I'd recommend covering it; if you don't like custard like French Toast, I'd recommend laying it flat as others have done instead of stacking. It's actually pretty good; hubs and I ate our portions today with syrup and fruit on the side. This makes a lot of French Toast; we have enough for leftovers to toss in the freezer, but I flipped the remainder and put back in the oven so it will freeze okay--I'm thinking the custard part won't be so good in the freezer. I halved the recipe and still got 4 servings. I didn't use Portuguese bread for this; used a Christmas bread my godparents send us every year that has been hanging out in the freezer just waiting for recipes like this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States