Portuguese Bread French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Pretty good. It's French Toast with a personality disorder . . .the bottom is like a custard and bread pudding French Toast as others have said, and the top is crusty and toast like, similar to pan fried French Toast. If you don't like a crusty top, I'd recommend covering it; if you don't like custard like French Toast, I'd recommend laying it flat as others have done instead of stacking. It's actually pretty good; hubs and I ate our portions today with syrup and fruit on the side. This makes a lot of French Toast; we have enough for leftovers to toss in the freezer, but I flipped the remainder and put back in the oven so it will freeze okay--I'm thinking the custard part won't be so good in the freezer. I halved the recipe and still got 4 servings. I didn't use Portuguese bread for this; used a Christmas bread my godparents send us every year that has been hanging out in the freezer just waiting for recipes like this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Took other reviewers advice and increased sugar to half a cup and added one extra egg yolk. I baked at 350° for 20 minutes and an 8 inch round pan. Turned out fabulous didn't last long in our house. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The folks who are down rating this recipe are, I think, expecting it to make classic French toast. What it actually makes a kind of bread custard. And as such it is EXCELLENT. I fix it for special occasions like Thanksgiving or Christmas breakfast, and we love it. Be sure to submerge all the bread in the milk mixture and put it in the fridge overnight before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MojitoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made my own portuguese sweet bread from scratch. I assumed that the casserole was meant to make the night before so that the bread could really soak up all the egg mixture overnight--that's what I did. I served this with homemade maple vanilla syrup. For us, the flavor was good but we didn't care for the mushy texture of the casserole. I would make this again but I would cook the french toast in the skillet in the butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I used rolls, turned out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
very good recipe, but I baked it in a single layer as advised by some of the other reviews. LOVE Portuguese sweet bread anyway I can get it:) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
texture is toooo mushy. flavor was lacking as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I agree with another reviewer...next time I will try a single layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe, and half the bread was emerged in the mixture, half was sticking up, but it was still gross to have half mushy bread. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe was wonderful...I made it for company the first time and it was a huge hit. The Portuguese massa (sweet bread) really gives it a special flavor and texture. I will definitely make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States