Portuguese Beef - Cacoila Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Cacoila is a pork dish. My 2 cents as a Portuguese person----cacoila is traditionally made with pork. This is the first time I've ever seen it with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Powers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I doubled the sauce and seasonings and it was still dry and bland. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I found this recipe rather simple which is probably why it was so tough and bland. I wont attempt this again.--- Sorry in Providence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this using venison. It came out fantastic. Being from E.Providence with all the feasts it was pretty close. I added a lot more garlic and some red pepper flakes. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is very close to how I have made my cacoila for years. I usually make this with 6 to 10 pounds of pork and never really measure anything. My only differences are that I use portuguese allspice, crushed red pepper flakes and cinnamon. Don't be afraid to make this and adjust ingredients for your own preferences. This is my most requested dish from family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I agree with other reviewers that more garlic and heat are needed for authenticity, but the basic recipe is good. I had thick steaks labeled "for braising" that I think were top round that I just cut into 3" pieces. It all falls apart if cooked right anyway, so size doesn't really matter ;) Also, I don't use allspice or bay leaves at all because I like the purely wine-paprika-hot pepper-garlic taste. I only use a splash of orange juice as well and throw the whole kit-and-kaboodle in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
im portuguese but my family uses pork for cacoila. and lots more garlic and we use crushed red pepper. i tried this recipe and it wasnt to bad but it is better with the pork.and we serve it with fries or rice.i live in fairhaven and cacoila is very popular here especially at the portuguese feasts they sell alot of cacoila sandwiches.and its pork meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
My husband & I both enjoyed this very much. I followed the recipe except for using commercial orange juice, and made only half the recipe. The meat ended up marinating for an extra 24 hours, as we unexpectedly went out for dinner when I should have been cooking this dish. We found the meat to be very flavorful; we can't understand why anyone would have called it bland. I served it with tortillas, but would like to know what the Portuguese usually serve with it. I would caution anyone who makes this recipe to keep a close eye on the liquid levels. I gave the recipe only 4 stars because my stew beef, while edible after an hour or so of cooking, could have used another hour to get to the point of shredding. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks, John, for a recipe that we will keep making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I so desperately wanted this to be delicious, but it was so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBird+3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Vassalboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I grew uo in New Bedford and I always had cacoila made with pork. I tried this recipe and it was good, however I like mine much spicier and I still think I prefer it made with pork. (I marinade it for 2 to 3 days first) My grandfather was from the Azores and maybe that explains the difference of beef or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States