Portuguese Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Easy, tasty and hearty. I will be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is soooooo awesome!!!! added more garlic. grated parmesan cheese over the top when I served it. Magnificent !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This has to be the most flavorless soup I have ever made. Must brown the linguica first to lock in the flavor. After the linguica simmered an hour it had zero flavor. also, to much water...even my broth had no flavor...this recipe was a huge disappointment...the cooking time seems ridiculously long. Yuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I hate to make changes and rate, but I made such slight changes. I found this at the last minute, and didn't have a ham hock, so I skipped that part. I also subbed Andouille. The rest was the same, except I threw in a half a zucchini I had to use up at the end. We absolutely loved this. I only rated it (even though I changed it) because when I go back through my recipe box, I look for the 5 star things to remember what we loved most. This is right up there. Served with a Focaccia recipe from this site we also love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made this over the winter and had many happy soup eaters. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Made this over the weekend and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This soup is very good; broth is outstanding. I made it with two ham hocks instead of one and substituted Johnsonville spicy Italian sausage for the linguica since I could not find any, and I still think it needs more meat. Plus I added an extra can of tomato sauce. But still a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
We had some linguica that needed to be used, and I found this recipe while looking to alternatives to my standard kale/white bean/potato soup... Like others, I didn't have a ham hock, but did have about a pound of bacon ends that I subbed. I did take a few other liberties, which included doubling the kidney beans and vegetables. The broth was tasty as written, but I did end up adding some smoked paprika, a touch of apple cider vinegar and some dried chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is the best comfort food!!! I substituted the linguica with a local spiced sausage (we don't have linguica available) and a little less water. I served it to my Protugese friends and they loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Panlilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
What wonderful heartwarming dish. Pikala has given our famiy a new favorite Portuguese Bean Soup recipe. My husband the head famiy chef was in aw : ) to receive a "thumbs-up" from the famiy. He came clean and shared where he got the recipe and gave credit where credit is due. So, "THUMBS-UP"! We look forward to other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States