Portuguese Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Easy & delicious. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great recipe. Just one thing we do here (in Hawaii)- eat it with some ono Portuguese sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I brought the New Year in with your soup recipe.......And it was Greeeeat !!! I tripled the recipe for the crowd and it was gone before the stroke of midnight lol ! Mahalo for saving me :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
First off, I hope the water measurement was a typo, in any case, try the following: Cover Ham Hock and sliced or you can dice them, portugese sausage with water and bring to boil.(I use one Hot and one regular flavored sausage, this is what gives it its' flavor)Lightly boil until meat is temder and can be removed from bone easily. Remove Ham hock and remove meat and place back in pot. Add diced onions, potatos, carrots,beans and tomato sauce. If you are adding a can of diced or stewed tomatoes, add it now. Bring to boil, let simmer for 30 mins. Cabbage is usually optional, but if your adding it, add it now and simmer until it cooks down. Now add 1/2 lb of macaroni noodles, bring to boil, turn down heat to simmer until noodles are tender, stirring frequently. Serve alone or over rice with crackers or crusty bread. what every you desire. This is a great hearty soup, especially on a cold hawaiian night, not to mention a freezing cold mainland night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Too much macaroni. I had to add another can of tomato sauce and another quart of water and it definitely is missing some type of flavor, but I can't pinpoint it. My son added salt for taste because it was bland. Will try it again with my adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
For Hawaiian style, cut the potato and add canned tomato with the tomato chopped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I loved this soup and so did everyone else who tried it. The only thing i couldn't understand was the water quantity "2 quarts wasn't enough". It even sounds ridiculous when considering all of the ingredients. I cut down on some of the ingredients and still needed about 4 quarts of water. I would have given it 5 stars if the water quantity wasn't so far off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Yay! I was looking for a good portuguese bean soup recipe to remind me of home (Hawaii) and this one is excellent! Really simple and perfect for colder weather. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States