Portobello Stacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
A delicious and easy vegetarian meal, although I made a few changes. I felt the stacks needed a bit more flavor, so I added minced garlic to the marinade and then sprinkled grated romano cheese inbetween each layer. (Also be sure to season everything with salt and pepper.) I chopped the mushroom stems, leftover onion and eggplant and sauteed in olive oil with 4 cloves of minced garlic, then added a can of diced tomatoes to make a quick pasta sauce. It simmered while the stacks cooked in the oven. I served the stacks with pasta and sauce; the entire meal was satisfying and delicious. I feel that this dish needs slightly higher heat or a longer cooking time, especially if you cut your slices on the thicker side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This was really tasty.. Earlier in the day I grilled the mushroom, onion, and eggplant to give it a nice smoky flavor. Then when we were ready for dinner, i just popped it in the oven. Next time, I think I'll try it with fresh mozzarella cheese. mmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This was great! I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This recipe was incredible and so easy!! This is definitely an easy recipe I can make when my friends come for lunch. I will also make it for dinner when we entertain. It is an impressive looking dish. The tastes were just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
First I took the slices of eggplant and put them on a cookie sheet and sprinkled them with olive oil, basil and garlic powder. Broiled them 5 minutes on each side. Then I threw the eggplant in a 9X13 pan and threw in the balsamic marinated mushrooms and onions. I dumped in a 28oz. can of diced tomatoes and and baked for 45 minutes to one hour at 350. Then topped with mozzerella and parmesian. It was incredibly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was healthy and fantastic! The only this I did differntly was add some garlic, salt, and pepper between some of the layers. We'll be serving this at our next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I love this recipe and have made it for years. I take thin slices of chicken that I have cooked and set them on top of the mushroom. I am going to try the recipe next time with basil like others have suggested. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I really like this recipe. The only thing missing, for my taste, is some fresh herbs. A few whole basil leaves between the onion and tomato make a big difference. I have also tried this casserole style - I made a simple sauce with the tomatoes and onions, with some garlic and lots of fresh herbs-oregano, basil and rosemary. Omitted the balsamic vinegar and instead poured the sauce over the eggplant and mushroom and topped with the cheese. This made a delicious and healthy vegetarian main course. Thanks for sharing, Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Good! Mine ended up looking quite comical because my garden didn't have any large tomatoes ripe for me when I went out to grab one for this recipe, so I had to use halved cherry tomatoes. Looked funny, but still tasty. I did sweat the eggplant while the mushroom & onion marinated. I added fresh cracked black pepper and garlic powder. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
SO EASY! the flavors were superb, but terribly difficult to eat. it really tastes best to get all the ingredients in one bite, but to not feel like you're stuffing your face, you need to chop it uo into bite size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States