Portobello Stacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This recipe was incredible and so easy!! This is definitely an easy recipe I can make when my friends come for lunch. I will also make it for dinner when we entertain. It is an impressive looking dish. The tastes were just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This was great! I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I left out the eggplant, but otherwise it was great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This was really tasty.. Earlier in the day I grilled the mushroom, onion, and eggplant to give it a nice smoky flavor. Then when we were ready for dinner, i just popped it in the oven. Next time, I think I'll try it with fresh mozzarella cheese. mmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This is a quick, colorful and healthy recipe. In a small variation, I used a red onion to add a little more flavor and color, and instead of making four stacks, I consolidated the ingrediants to make two larger stacks. These stacks were the delicious and fragrant centerpiece of a vegetarian meal for two--served along side a salad of baby spinich, mozzarella, and homemade spicy sweet-and-and sour dressing and a slice of crusty french bread. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dinner, and I will definitely make the stacks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This dish is unappetizing to look at. It tasts much better than it looks! I wouldn't serve it to company because of its appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I really like this recipe. The only thing missing, for my taste, is some fresh herbs. A few whole basil leaves between the onion and tomato make a big difference. I have also tried this casserole style - I made a simple sauce with the tomatoes and onions, with some garlic and lots of fresh herbs-oregano, basil and rosemary. Omitted the balsamic vinegar and instead poured the sauce over the eggplant and mushroom and topped with the cheese. This made a delicious and healthy vegetarian main course. Thanks for sharing, Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This turned out even better than expected. I will definitely make again. I took the advice from another reviewer and grilled the mushroom, onion and eggplant slightly before baking. This was a very satisfying dish and looked nice also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Perfect lazy-single-guy source of a healthy meal :-). I used extra vinegar, some olive oil to stop the eggplant drying up and red capsicum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I griled the veggies, as some of the reviewers suggested, but marinated for a much shorter time. Stacked the veggies, then covered with tomato sauce adn cheese, baked and broiled. It was great, but the veggies are so pourous, I wouldn't marinate at all or cut the marinade to avoid excess liquid att he end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States