Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
The good news is: our fire extinguisher works. I put the mushrooms on the top rack by the broiler, set the timer for four minutes and at three heard a *poof* from the oven. I opened the door to flames shooting out and licking the cabinets above. After our fire extinguisher put out the flames and I'd cleaned up, I finished up the sandwich, and thought it was pretty good. Then my daughter pointed out that the mushrooms I'd just eaten had been sprayed with a fire extinguisher. The poison control center assured me that the f.e. has mostly baking soda inside and that I shouldn't feel any ill effects. But the man laughed at me, so I have to add the caveat to the recipe: leave off the extra baking soda by not letting your 'shrooms catch fire in the first place. Other than the fire marshall warning, these were pretty yummy sammies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I love portobello mushroom sandwiches and this homemade one rivals the best I have had in my favorite diner. I tweeked the recipe a bit to try and duplicate others I've eaten. I added grilled sweet onions, grilled peeled red peppers, and a slice of provolone. Plus I brushed the bread (NOT hamburger buns) with olive oil and grilled both sides. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
we grilled ours on the bbq. very good. just wish we had better buns. heed the warnings. these burgers *need* nice buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
These are the best burgers! I have stopped eating hamburgers because I love this recipe so much. My only suggestions is chopping the capers instead of leaving them whole, adding grilled red onions and Provolone cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Very yummy. I reduced the vinegar by one tablespoon and added red cooking wine. We cook this on the grill, about 1 1/2 to 2 min each side. Delicious even without the caper mayo! My 10 year old loved it, and he doesn't like mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Stop eating hamburgers! Why would you, anyway, with delicious portabello mushrooms that are so much quicker and healthier? This recipe is the best I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Best summed up by my husband, "This is a mushroom?!?" These were delicious and we will have these again and again, I'm sure. Used fresh thyme and poured almost the entire marinade into the caps so all the flavor could be absorbed. Cooked them on the grill and added provolone and sauteed red onions. They were fantastic! And the clincher: it all came together, including a salad, in less than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Wow--these were terrific! I will definitely be making a lot of these sandwiches in the future! A note to those of you who, like me, are a bit short on time: Hellmann's makes an herbed mayonnaise that I used in place of the homemade mayo listed in the recipe. It tasted great and saved a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
GREAT ALTERNATIVE TO BEEF. NEXT TIME I WILL USE SOME TYPE OF CHEESE AND ONIONS AND MAYBE LAY OFF THE VINEGAR A BIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States