Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Haven't tried this yet but it sounds great. I think the following remoulade sauce would be awesome with it! I'm gonna try mine with the remoulade instead of the mayo/capers combo. I've had this remoulade on Salmon croquettes before and it's great!!!!!!! Remoulade Dressing: 1/3 cup plain yogurt 1 tsp capers 1 1/2 tbsp mayo 2 tsp parsley 2 tsp green onions 2 tsp Dijon mustard 1/4 tarragon 1/8 pepper Dash hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
HUGE HIT with the family....absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
All of us loved the first time I made it and have made it several times since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Easy, healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Yummy!These were great.I could only find three medium size mushrooms ,but it woked ,just shortened broiling time.I poured some of sause on the underside of the cap and let it sit for about 5 min. then broiled as directed. I didn,t make the caper mayo ,because I don,t care for then that much. But I had left over marinate and brushed on bun and toasted. then add small amount of mayo to bread with tomato and cheese.W0W could have eaten all of then by myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
FANTASTIC! I only had sliced mushrooms on hand so I put them in a shallow pan with all of the listed ingredients and broiled for a few minutes. (You could also saute the mushrooms and sauce in a skillet) I didn't want to use a bun so I took 2 slices of wheat bread and brushed both sides with olive oil and sprinkled with garlic powder. I put the slices on my griddle until brown on both sides. Spread the grilled bread with mayo, add the mushrooms, and a slice of provolone, and enjoy. It remined me of a panini and the juices did not soak through the bread. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
These were fantastic! A great use for some olive oil infused with thyme and rosemary that I brought back from Greece. The capers and mayo were a nice little trick- gotta remember that one for other sandwiches and toppings. I had this for dinner tonight and I'm already planning on having it again tomorrow! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Certainly different, but not really to my taste. Probably won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Delicious. I only had 2 portobellos but, I mixed up the full recipe of marinate. Then I poured all but a little of the marinate in the gill side of the mushrooms and let them marinate about 5-6 hrs (I got busy and forgot about them). I put them in my cast iron grill pan gill side down and poured the rest of the marinate over the tops. Broiled for a few minutes and then turned them gill side up to finish cooking. I did not have any bread---not one single slice in the house and did not feel like running to the store so served over a bag of heat & eat Adolphus Basmati rice. Served with a side salad. So good!! Wish I had saved just a tad of the marinate to pour on the rice. Loved the balsamic flavor of the mushrooms. Can't wait to make again, loved the way it turned out---may try in sandwich form next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
These turned out so well! The caps I had were humongous so I only need two and cut them in quarters to fit on the buns better. The caper may was delicious and the sandwich as a whole tasted amazing. I will definitely be re-making this and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States