Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
HUGE hit with my husband ... and we just finished grilling them for the neighbors who "just couldn't tell you how good it is" between bites. No cravings for real steak after this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Really amazing---I've been wanting to eat portabello mushrooms but didn't know how to cook them. I spread goat cheese on a kaiser roll like the previous post---really good! Was out of thyme and used basil instead---still tasted like a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made a modified recipe for my friends birthday last night and everyone loved them. Instead of the capers and mayo (which probably was delicious), I made a Mayo, garlic and lime juice spread. It's like an aioli without the horseradish. I layered one side of the buns with goat cheese, the other with the spread. Put the portobello on top of the goat cheese, some baked sliced beets on top, baby leaf spinach and put the other bun on top. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I grilled the mushrooms and they turned out great. As others have commented, they were very juicy... which is good, except the bottom of the bun turned quite soggy. Next time, I will try to press or drain out some of the excess moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have made these multiple times, and love them everytime! I kept the recipipe the same except for the bread (I like whole grain rolls) and I double the mayo sauce. These are fabulous! I agree with another reviewer on one thing. Be careful with your stove, mine too caught on fire. I laughed when I read their review warning about this, and it happened to me. Please stay in the area when you make these just in case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Very good. I added some feta cheese on top as well. The toasted bun with the mayo (I used low fat and still tasted great) was a nice touch but did get a little soggy halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
these were pretty darn good...I ran into the "wet" problem too, but the taste was great. I think that can be remedied by grilling instead of broiling. I'll do that next time. I broiled marinated onion rings too and put them on top with the tomato and lettuce, plus the caper mayo and a hearty whole wheat bun...good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very good! I marinated them in the frig for about an hour. I added onions cut into rings and marinated them as well. I put the onions in the oven sooner because they take longer. I also added a little bit of rosemary. My only complaint is they are quite greasy. Excellent flavor. I will make again with less oil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
YUMMY, this deserves over 5 stars in my opinion! It is a simple recipe, but sooo delicious! I followed the recipe except I ommitted the capers out of personal preference and the lettuce because I didn't have any. I topped the caps with swiss cheese and roasted red peppers (jarred) in addition to the tomato and mayo, magnificent! I served them with baked sweet potato fries for a healthy version of a burger and fry meal. The other reviewers are right in that it takes a hearty bun to hold this juicy "burger"! I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States