Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent! I cooked these as I had a vegetarian friend over for dinner. Everyone loved these. I usually like portabellas cut up as they have a strong flavor, but cooking them this way made them have a milder flavor. Even for a house full of meat lovers, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Wow does oil smoke! Make sure to have the windows open for this recipe. Really good, first time doing a portabello "burger" and it was "meaty". May increase the capers next time, wasn't a big flavour hit I was hoping for. Topped with Provolone too (can't go wrong with cheese). A definite make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Simple. Good. But nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
YUM These are delicious. The marinade is perfect! I did make a few changes: cibatta roll/ white sharp cheddar melted on the shrooms/ grilled purple onion/ dijon mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The Best veggie burger I've ever eaten or made. They have one that I had at our local restaurant a few days ago and it tasted identical. I wonder if they stole the recipe.. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Super Fast and Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
HUGE hit with my husband ... and we just finished grilling them for the neighbors who "just couldn't tell you how good it is" between bites. No cravings for real steak after this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Really amazing---I've been wanting to eat portabello mushrooms but didn't know how to cook them. I spread goat cheese on a kaiser roll like the previous post---really good! Was out of thyme and used basil instead---still tasted like a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made a modified recipe for my friends birthday last night and everyone loved them. Instead of the capers and mayo (which probably was delicious), I made a Mayo, garlic and lime juice spread. It's like an aioli without the horseradish. I layered one side of the buns with goat cheese, the other with the spread. Put the portobello on top of the goat cheese, some baked sliced beets on top, baby leaf spinach and put the other bun on top. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I grilled the mushrooms and they turned out great. As others have commented, they were very juicy... which is good, except the bottom of the bun turned quite soggy. Next time, I will try to press or drain out some of the excess moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States