Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I love these sandwiches! I grilled them on my George Foreman grill and served them on the Focaccia Bread recipe I got from this site. I can't wait to try them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
loved them...make sure the buns are really toasted because they will get soggy. I melted cheese on top of the mushroom seemed to help keep the juices from leaking on the bun..DELICOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. Great alternative to burgers. I added sliced tomato and red onion. I also have made them grilled and broiled them. They turn out great either way. I agree with other reviewers to make sure to purchase fresh hamburger buns (makes all the difference in the overall taste of the sandwich).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Wow!!! This was really, really delicious...and I am NOT a mushroom lover! I let my mushrooms sit in the marinade for a couple of hours and then grilled them to avoid the smoke-in-the-house problem others had. I only had cheapy little hamburger buns in the house, so I was a little worried about the soggy problem others had, but I place my mushrooms with the gill side up on my buns and didn't have any soggy issue at all! Topped with provolone cheese, grilled onions, lettuce, tomato and the caper mayo and I was in heaven. Can't wait to make this for my husband, who really does not like mushrooms at all...I know he will shocked to taste how yummy these are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe, thank you! I agree the focaccia bread (with garlic) is a MUST, plus the provalone cheese, and sliced red onions. I cooked everything on a large griddle so that made it easier, I added the mushrooms to the marinade and mixed it up so that it was very well coated. I also added fresh minced rosemary from my garden to the marinade. I did coat the red onions in the same marinade and broiled them with a dab of butter...and I also coated the bread with the marinade before toasting on the griddle. I didn't have any peppers on hand in the 3x in the last 3 weeks that I've made this, but sounds like another great addition to this already delicious meal. Last night I just placed everything on shreaded romaine lettuce because I try not to eat bread too often. Wow, what an infusion of flavors! Thanks again for such a great recipe and everyone's great comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My husband and I love mushrooms and this was by far the best burger we have ever had! And easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
It was okay, smoked up my whole house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I love this recipe, it's so quick and so good. It really is a lot better with stiffer type of bun or it gets soggy and messy quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I really enjoyed these. My husband did not. They were a bit too moist, making the bun soggy, but if I play with the cooking time a bit, or perhaps fry them prior to putting them in the oven, that may provide a solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
WOW!!! These are the absolute BEST mushroom burgers i have tasted!! I make them over and over becuase we can't just get enough!! Thank you soooo much for sharing this recipe!!! It's a 5 star all the way!!! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States