Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was the only recipe to ever cause a fight between my fiance and I. After the mushrooms caught fire (after only a couple of mins) he read the recipe because he didn't believe me that the recipe really did say to put the shrooms close to the heat after covering them in oil. After all of that, they didn't even taste good. We ended up taking the mushrooms off the sandwiches and just eating the tomato and lettuce. I feel bad for giving a recipe a 1 star, but I really can't give this one anymore than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Omg these were absolutely unbelievable! My bf and I destroyed these! Believe it or not, these actually taste meaty! This will surely be a regular recipe at my house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willrusso
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I loved these. My husband and kids couldn't seem to get over the fact that they were eating a giant mushroom and didn't care for them, but my husband even said the flavor was good. I practically finished all of theirs for them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! Made this for my carnivore boyfriend who didn't miss the meat at all as well as for my veggie family and got rave reviews from both parties. The only changes I made were using fresh instead of dried thyme, adding provolone cheese to the portobellos once they were removed from the oven and not using any lettuce. For the buns I used a whole wheat dinner roll I found at Super Target. Once I buttered and toasted them they were the perfect pairing with the broiled mushrooms. Next time I think I'll rinse the capers a little before chopping and incorporating them into the mayo as this will help cut back on the sodium content. I might also marinate the mushrooms overnight rather then for just a couple of hours like I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this for the first time and my husband and roommate loved it. I'm not a great cook but this is rather easy. I added grilled onions and Mozzarella cheese (that's what I had in the fridge) and it turned out great. I like the balsamic vinegar so I followed the recipe and used 2 tablespoons. The only thing is this is not very filling so we each had 2 Portobellow Sandwiches. This is definitely something I will make again and for my mother in law since she is vegetarian. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Awesome!! Personally, I added some grilled onion...and perhaps a bit more capers. Rinsed, salt cured capers are way better than brined! Sometimes, when I'm feeling it, I grill up some onion....brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MattyHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
My first time on this site. I was looking to eat less meat, and eat a little healthier. this was the first recipe that i came across, and it sounded good. I went out and bought all the ingredients, started cooking and hoped for the best. all i can say is WOW! This was sooooooo good! My brother loved it as well, and hes a huge food critic(in our family). Definitely need to make sure u have the right bun, and will make these again today, but will start playing with different ingredients. I LOVE this Sandwich! I am ok with eating these instead of beef burgers any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I love these sandwiches! I grilled them on my George Foreman grill and served them on the Focaccia Bread recipe I got from this site. I can't wait to try them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
loved them...make sure the buns are really toasted because they will get soggy. I melted cheese on top of the mushroom seemed to help keep the juices from leaking on the bun..DELICOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. Great alternative to burgers. I added sliced tomato and red onion. I also have made them grilled and broiled them. They turn out great either way. I agree with other reviewers to make sure to purchase fresh hamburger buns (makes all the difference in the overall taste of the sandwich).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States