Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
These turned out so well! The caps I had were humongous so I only need two and cut them in quarters to fit on the buns better. The caper may was delicious and the sandwich as a whole tasted amazing. I will definitely be re-making this and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Oh, that was good. And easy. And fast. Portobello mushrooms are surprisingly expensive, so I used Porteenies instead and stacked two to three caps per sandwich. I tried them with a mix of Dijon and roasted-garlic mayo, and this was delicious. It may have been my oven, it may have been my roasting pan, but the roasting after having flipped them produced a LOT of smoke in my house. Anyone have any explanation and way to prevent this? This is definitely in the make-again recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I grilled them and thought they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I made these for dinner last nite,I used fat free ranch instead of the mayo and capers and added swiss cheese.I served on toasted ciabetta buns.They were great! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Best summed up by my husband, "This is a mushroom?!?" These were delicious and we will have these again and again, I'm sure. Used fresh thyme and poured almost the entire marinade into the caps so all the flavor could be absorbed. Cooked them on the grill and added provolone and sauteed red onions. They were fantastic! And the clincher: it all came together, including a salad, in less than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
These were absolutely wonderful! I had to use fresh basil instead of thyme. Didn't have capers so I used a basil/mayo combination. I grilled them outside- can't wait to have one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
SUPERB! My boyfriend is very picky with food, especially with westerns, since we are Indonesians, and he digs super savory and herby foods, while I can tolerate nearly all kinds of International flavor. I followed the recipe as it is. The only tweaking I did was that I brushed the buns with the dressing before toasting them. I was very surprised and contented that this actually met his taste! He also hates vast kinds of veggies and didn't complained at all for those I stuffed in this sandwich, even complimented me on this. If only he knew! Oh, not to forget every "Mmmmm. This is super delish!" on every bite he took! I'll try on the cheese and grilled onion suggestion next time I have this, and it'll be super soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anisa P. L.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
These were great, especially with the caper mayonnaise which really made this recipe. I think I'll look for a better balsamic vinegar since what I have on hand is a cheap version and I found it didn't lend itself very well to this recipe. I also want to experiment with other options - maybe a little soy sauce instead. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
We cooked over low heat on the grill...FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was great....although I made a couple changes. I only had 3 caps, so I took an onion and cut it in 1/2 and broiled it as well with the extra sauce I had. I toasted bread with mozzerella cheese and garlic salt on it. I used one piece of the cheese toast bread on one side and one piece of plain toasted bread for the other side and spread miracle whip on it after toasting. I didn't have any capers and it was still great. I used the broiled onions to spread over the sandwich instead of lettuce and tomato. I thought the combination of grilled onions and melted cheese on toasted bread, made this perfect. Great recipe, thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States