Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is amazing! The balsamic vinegar mix compliments the portobello nicely and the caper mayonnaise gives it a savory bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
omitted capers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Even the "meat lovers" in my family loved these. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was a delicious recipe! I did not add lettuce and tomato to the top of the portobello and I modified the mayonnaise mixture. I made a bruschetta mixture and added some chopped onion. I drained the olive oil and balsamic vinegar that I used in the bruschetta mixture and added this mixture to the mayo and capers. I used very little mayonnaise. I found this concoction really brought this recipe to the next level. I also used Kaiser rolls instead of hamburger rolls. This recipe far exceeded my expectations! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanguardista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I'm a portabello mushroom sandwhich fanatic and I LOVED this recipe. My husband made it for me for our aniversary and it was amazing. He substituted olive oil with basil olive oil which was just what it needed. I also made a basil aoli as the spread and added some muenster cheese. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Didn't have capers (don't like capers much anyway) and added avocado to the burgers and they were delicious! Use vegan mayo for a totally animal product-free burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Yum. Nothing wrong with this recipe! One hint: My broiler has 2 settings, High & Low.... if yours does too then do these on Low.... I did the first side on Low with no problems ... I flipped and changed it to High and viola...BIG FIRE. I shut it off and restarted with Low ... no problem. Very delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
These were delicious. My only complaint is that they are slippery and tricky to keep in the bun. I did add grilled red peppers and onions, as well as provolone. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Just made this up. Gotta say it was better than expected. I used this other step in it that only has. Adding that step definentely made it alot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
My burger-loving family was skeptical about this and it took Mom being away for the night for them to finally give in and give it a try. Needless to say, they absolutely loved them and constantly ask me to make them again!! O ya, I substituted green olives for the capers...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States