Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Sorry, but although this turned out right texture-wise, my family and I all thought it was missing some taste. Perhaps more salt and spices would have given this more flavor. This was the first pot pie that I've tasted before, but it just seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made it a few times... I usually double the recipe and put half in a 9x9" dish then top with a sheet of puff pastry. I freeze the other half to use with the rest of the puff pastry at another time! I also add a few dashes of worcestershire sauce to the gravy mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Incredibly hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
My husband and I really liked pot pie, although I overspiced (my fault) because before cooking the filling seemed bland. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Awesome recipe! Excellent flavor and texture. I followed the recipe exactly (except maybe adding a little more shitake mushrooms than called for) and it ended up to be WAY too much for 1 little 9" pie shell. So, I made pot pie pastries to fit a 13x9 and it was just the right amount of filling for this size. I'm glad there was so much because 1/2 is in my freezer for a later date. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe was perfect veg. recipe. My boyfriend and I are not vegetarian though his mother and sister are and this was wonderful. Everyone raved about it. Though by following the recipe I made enough for 3 pies. So I ended up baking it in a casserole dish. I paired it with grilled asparagus tossed in olive oil, and lightly seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic. Delecious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
My daughter (veget) really liked this & surprisingly, my hubby (meat/potato man) also liked it. Didn't change much from the original. Used 6 medium potatoes instead of small & added extra soy sauce. Am planning on adding sliced water chestnuts next time, for a little more texture. Definately planning on having it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Delicious! The only downside was my frozen pie crust, which tasted like a frozen pie crust. Everything else was wonderful. I used allpurpose flour so I cut down on the water - used about 2 cups, and then added flour until I got a gravy consistency. I was too cheap for the shiitakes, and instead used the portabello stems, which worked great. Took the leftovers into work and they disappeared in minutes! Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is my husband's favorite recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
My husband and I really enjoyed this but I wish I would have read the reviews first so I knew about the flour thing. Even though it was watery it was still yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Albia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States