Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made this recipe for a Vegetarian friend- she loved it! Made it with a whole wheat pie crust and it was great! It had a little too much onion for my taste, but my friend didn't think there was too much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wasn't sure about this until the first bite. It even was better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
OMG! My new favorite vegetarian comfort food! I did end up using a tad more rice flour and soy sauce, but would have been great exactly as written! I don't know if I did something wrong, but I had way too much filling for a regular pie pan. I ended up eating the left-over filling like a stew. That was great, and we could hardly wait for the final product. It was sooooo worth the wait!!!!! As good as the creamy versions without all the fat and meat!!! love, love, love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
LOVE THIS! Will make many more times! Replaced the water with chicken broth (2c) and some red wine (1.5c) - sounds gross, but came out well (wine turned filling a dark purple though - which was fine with me!). Also used all purpose flour instead of rice flour and had to add more to make it not-watery - just added flour until the consistency was right. Added some extra veggies and it made enough for two pies, which we were happy to eat because we like it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great Veggie recipe! I used 2 tsp of Italian seasoning instead of sage and thyme (didn't have any) and added some zucchini to the mix. It was a wonderfully flavorful meal. Thanks for sharing. I will make again and probably experiment with more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This Asian twist on a classic is brilliant! I made this for my husband and his mother. We all LOVED it! I didn't find shiitakes in my store, so I used baby bellas. I used AP flour and used 9 T (thank you other raters/reviewers). We like things a bit spicy, so I added a few squirts of Sirachi to give it a bit of heat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Kids loved it! Leftovers were even better than first day. Used dried shitake mushrooms instead of fresh; saved mushroom water from cooking them for the liquid. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Really outstanding... I used vegetarian store-bought pie crusts... next time I will make my own crust >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
If you're thinking of making this pie, you've come to the right place by reading reviews! I've made portobello and chicken versions of this pie now, and I relied heavily on some of the consistent reviews I read here. For example, I used all-purpose flour for the gravy and almost doubled the measurement, and used vegetable stock and wine in place of the water. I also made my own crust. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe makes about twice the amount of filling you need for a 9-inch pie. This recipe is a great start though, with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen_spork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
LOVE IT! I'm a vegetarian and I love mushrooms so naturally this was awesome for me! But my husband is most a carnivore and he loved it too. RAVE REVIEWS all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starritha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States