Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Hey, it's me, the submitter... I have noticed that a couple of people are saying that the filling is too watery, that could be due to the wrong type of flour... Rice flour absorbs a lot more water than the same amount of AP flour, if you are going to use AP flour, use more flour than the recipe calls for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am a vegetarian and live off of stir fried veggies. I believe the best way to make this work is to pre-fry all the veggies so their best flavor comes through. This was a huge hit at my potluck and I'm making it for Christmas this year! Gruyere cheese, sherry, broth and cornstarch are my additions to make it lovely and so, so flavorful. To die for! -Fry the onions in the olive oil until they start to carmelize. -Add the carrots and celery and cook for about 5 minutes. -Add all the mushrooms and stir-fry together with the other veggies until they are all browned, tender, and fragrant. If the carrots and celery are still a little too firm, they'll soften as the pie bakes. -Add 1/2 C Sherry and the tamari. Whisk in about 1 T cornstarch (as you would the rice flour) and simmer until the mixture starts the thicken and bubble. -At this point, add the potatoes and whisk in as much veggie stock as you need to reach a desirable consistency. -Grate in about a 1/4 C Gruyere cheese! The filling is done. Prepare the pie as you would according to the recipe. Grate a little gruyere cheese over the top before popping it into the oven and you will be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe was perfect veg. recipe. My boyfriend and I are not vegetarian though his mother and sister are and this was wonderful. Everyone raved about it. Though by following the recipe I made enough for 3 pies. So I ended up baking it in a casserole dish. I paired it with grilled asparagus tossed in olive oil, and lightly seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic. Delecious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made it a few times... I usually double the recipe and put half in a 9x9" dish then top with a sheet of puff pastry. I freeze the other half to use with the rest of the puff pastry at another time! I also add a few dashes of worcestershire sauce to the gravy mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
If you're thinking of making this pie, you've come to the right place by reading reviews! I've made portobello and chicken versions of this pie now, and I relied heavily on some of the consistent reviews I read here. For example, I used all-purpose flour for the gravy and almost doubled the measurement, and used vegetable stock and wine in place of the water. I also made my own crust. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe makes about twice the amount of filling you need for a 9-inch pie. This recipe is a great start though, with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen_spork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was very tasty however next time i make it i think i will serve the filling over rice insted of putting it in a pie filling....Thanks for the recipe John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This can be a good vegan Thanksgiving main dish with some modifications. Most importantly, make sure the filling is liquid enough (about the consistency of gravy), as it doesn't taste good when it's too thick and some of the water will evaporate in the baking. However, if you're using all-purpose flour instead of rice flour, you can use 1 1/2 times as much. Also, it's a good idea to taste the filling while it's cooking and add extra soy sauce (up to 1 1/2 times as much total) if you find it's too bland. The carrots and celery should be added to the pot with the onions and mushrooms, so that they end up soft instead of crunchy. Finally, make sure the pie crusts you use are unsweetened (0g sugars in the Nutrition Facts) so they fit with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious! I used criminis instead of shiitakes, but I think next time I might use a wild mushroom mix for fun. I'll also salt the gravy. I caramelized the onions, and next time I'll add more. I also used fresh herbs. Nice and hearty, and fairly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Delicious! The only downside was my frozen pie crust, which tasted like a frozen pie crust. Everything else was wonderful. I used allpurpose flour so I cut down on the water - used about 2 cups, and then added flour until I got a gravy consistency. I was too cheap for the shiitakes, and instead used the portabello stems, which worked great. Took the leftovers into work and they disappeared in minutes! Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
LOVE IT! I'm a vegetarian and I love mushrooms so naturally this was awesome for me! But my husband is most a carnivore and he loved it too. RAVE REVIEWS all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starritha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States