Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Delicious. There was too much filling, but it didn't matter because I had devoured the extra filling before the pie was even ready. As always, I use my trusty pie crust recipe from this site (pie crust IV). This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Delicious! family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am a vegetarian and live off of stir fried veggies. I believe the best way to make this work is to pre-fry all the veggies so their best flavor comes through. This was a huge hit at my potluck and I'm making it for Christmas this year! Gruyere cheese, sherry, broth and cornstarch are my additions to make it lovely and so, so flavorful. To die for! -Fry the onions in the olive oil until they start to carmelize. -Add the carrots and celery and cook for about 5 minutes. -Add all the mushrooms and stir-fry together with the other veggies until they are all browned, tender, and fragrant. If the carrots and celery are still a little too firm, they'll soften as the pie bakes. -Add 1/2 C Sherry and the tamari. Whisk in about 1 T cornstarch (as you would the rice flour) and simmer until the mixture starts the thicken and bubble. -At this point, add the potatoes and whisk in as much veggie stock as you need to reach a desirable consistency. -Grate in about a 1/4 C Gruyere cheese! The filling is done. Prepare the pie as you would according to the recipe. Grate a little gruyere cheese over the top before popping it into the oven and you will be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Followed the recipe as written and indeed there was a lot of extra filling. But that was okay because I just put that in a casserole dish for leftovers. The vegetarians at my Thanksgiving dinner really enjoyed this. Would be better with homemade crust if you think you can handle that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Sorry, but although this turned out right texture-wise, my family and I all thought it was missing some taste. Perhaps more salt and spices would have given this more flavor. This was the first pot pie that I've tasted before, but it just seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made it a few times... I usually double the recipe and put half in a 9x9" dish then top with a sheet of puff pastry. I freeze the other half to use with the rest of the puff pastry at another time! I also add a few dashes of worcestershire sauce to the gravy mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Incredibly hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
My husband and I really liked pot pie, although I overspiced (my fault) because before cooking the filling seemed bland. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Awesome recipe! Excellent flavor and texture. I followed the recipe exactly (except maybe adding a little more shitake mushrooms than called for) and it ended up to be WAY too much for 1 little 9" pie shell. So, I made pot pie pastries to fit a 13x9 and it was just the right amount of filling for this size. I'm glad there was so much because 1/2 is in my freezer for a later date. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe was perfect veg. recipe. My boyfriend and I are not vegetarian though his mother and sister are and this was wonderful. Everyone raved about it. Though by following the recipe I made enough for 3 pies. So I ended up baking it in a casserole dish. I paired it with grilled asparagus tossed in olive oil, and lightly seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic. Delecious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States